The One Where I’m a Yogi

9 May

So after my big “decision” to become more food-oriented on this blog, I have not made mention of any of my recent workout habits. Oddly enough, right around the time I decide to talk more about food, my exercise habits changed pretty dramatically. Here’s what a typical week used to look like:

Monday – Body Pump after work

Tuesday – Spin or boot camp class after work

Wednesday – See Monday

Thursday – See Tuesday

Friday – Rest

Saturday/Sunday – potential treadmill or HIIT workout at the gym in Stefano’s apartment.

When I decided to commit to Chobani’s 10 for 10 goals back in March, my first goal was to attend yoga more regularly and get on my yoga mat at least twice a week.

IMG_2406[1]

Well, once I got into it I was addicted. I loved the feeling of being relaxed yet energized and even when I would go into class feeling sluggish and unmotivated I always left feeling challenged and refreshed. In short, it was everything a good workout is supposed to be. The problem? I felt guilty because I didn’t consider yoga a real “workout”. Sure it was beneficial to my body and made me feel great, but up until then it was not a workout if I didn’t get my sweat on.

IMG_2413[1]

After a few weeks of grudgingly dragging myself to the treadmill or to classes I wasn’t excited about, I said “screw it”. I was getting so much more out of yoga than I was when I exercised and wasn’t looking forward to it. It was kind of like blogging: once it starts to feel like a chore, you shouldn’t do it anymore. So I ditched the spin and boot camp and now my weeks look something like this:

Monday – Evening yoga, Pilates, walk home (about 2.5 miles)

Tuesday – AM walk to gym, AM yoga, PM yoga, walk home

Wednesday – Walk to work, PM yoga, Zumba, walk home

Thursday – AM walk to gym, AM yoga, PM yoga, walk home

Friday – Rest

Saturday/Sunday – 5k on treadmill in Stefano’s gym

I started supplementing yoga with a brisk walk to and from work and home, which is about 5 miles round-trip. It adds a nice bit of cardio to my day, but it’s productive and I’d rather do an hour walk while on the phone with my mom than crank out a half hour of jogging on the treadmill. Overall, it’s many more hours of exercise, but it’s all fairly low impact and I am noticing how much better my body feels. Before, my body would feel simply exhausted by the end of the week and I felt as if I wasn’t giving it rest. Now, even though I’m moving around for about 3.5-4 hours a day, I feel rejuvenated in the mornings and there aren’t any aches and pains in my joints and muscles.

IMG_2414[1]

Is it a bigger time commitment? Yes, but I am enjoying how I am passing my time and I am beyond thrilled with how my yoga practice is progressing. In the past two months I have been able to stay in poses that I struggled with for ages (parsva bakasana, eka pada galavasana) and I can tell that my practice is expanding by leaps and bounds. I look forward to getting on my mat and I always leave feeling like it was an hour well spent.

I’ve also been enjoying the various outdoor yoga events on the National Mall. Lululemon and Down Dog Yoga hosted one a couple of weeks ago for the 5th anniversary of Down Dog Yoga studio and this past weekend was a 2-hour event at the Constitution Gardens to culminate the end of DC Yoga week.

IMG_2535[1]

Am I burning as many calories as I used to? No. But I am getting stronger (your own body weight is an amazing strength training mechanism) and I haven’t gained any weight, so I am going to stick with it until it no longer appeals to me.

IMG_2533[1]

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: the best exercise is the one you can maintain. On days that I get a craving for a run, I get on the treadmill or run outside. Feeling some weights? I’ll head to Body Pump. I love having options and it is freeing to know that I haven’t pigeon-holed myself into a prescribed or acceptable workout routine. I encourage you all to do the same.

For now, I am embracing my inner yogi and loving every moment of it.

Namaste!

9 Responses to “The One Where I’m a Yogi”

  1. pickyrunner May 10, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    I would rather walk to and from work (or school) than do a formal workout too paired with some yoga. It’s less stressful and honestly, I think it’s better for your body. I’ve actually found my body is at the lowest weight when I do this kind of exercise because the stress level goes down. I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta May 10, 2013 at 10:04 am #

      Thanks, Sarah! It seems so simple that the best way to go about things is to quit over analyzing and just go with what feels right, yet it’s something so many of us struggle with! Always a work in progress 🙂

  2. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 May 10, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    Ah I love this post! Partially because of the either intentional or unintentional Friends title reference he he. But anyway- you go girl! I loved everything you just said. I always feel so lucky to have a friend like you because its stuff like this that really inspires me to just truly do what makes me happy. As I’m still struggling between finding that balance between running/bootcamp/spin/lifting etc. and yoga- this post hit home more to me than you know.

    Lastly- AWESOME pics from yoga on the mall. I didn’t even realize you were snapping such keepers when we were goofing around together haha.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta May 10, 2013 at 10:03 am #

      Thanks for your support girl, you’ve been the one who has been telling me to paddle my own canoe! I have totally faith that you’ll find a balance that works for you. Also, totally intentional Friends reference 😉

      • wickedhealthywashingtonian33 May 10, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

        Yes good- I’m glad it was intentional. Add that to the list of the reasons why we’re friends.

  3. theadventuresofzandk May 10, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    I was just telling Z this morning that we need more yoga in our lives. Sure I do Tara Stiles warm-ups every morning when I get out of bed, but I want to start going to actual classes. I’ve been feeling so stressed lately and I think it could be a good outlet. The focus on breathing, calm, flexibility and strength….there’s nothing like it!

  4. bezzymates May 10, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    That’s great. I love Yoga too and can feel its calming and energizing properties.

  5. Dawn H. May 13, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    that’s a lot of yoga! i’ve started going twice a week, and i find myself sleeping better 🙂 i can only imagine the benefits of going 5 times a week!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Signs of a Poser Blogger | Magia e Pasta - May 16, 2013

    […] me 10 minutes at Trader Joe’s to get my weekly groceries, it is that routine) and my workouts follow a pretty regular routine. If all I talked about on this blog were my daily eats and workouts, I could virtually copy and […]

Your turn to share!

