Some Things You Just Can’t Fake

2 May

Well the sun finally decided to come out in DC and it is because of the sun that led me to this blog post.

As some of you may know, I like to take walks on my lunch hour and often use the time to talk to my mom or stroll along with my girl, Allison. Well, today Allison was booked for lunch (you have to reserve walking appointments with her fast, her free time fills up fast, people!) and my mom wasn’t answering her phone. It was around 10 AM her time, so the only reason she wouldn’t answer is because she a) wasn’t awake yet (she works the night shift), b) she was meditating, or c) she was screening my calls. What, you don’t want to talk to me on the phone twice a day, Mommy?

Hurt feelings aside, I decided to venture to Whole Foods because they’re having a sale on Yogi tea and it gave me an excuse to nom on their chips n’ guac samples. Seriously, I don’t know what they put in their guacamole but it is unparalleled UN. PARALLELED.

After grabbing a sample (or five), I wandered to the tea aisle and debated which one I was going to bring back to the office with me. I limited myself to one because I have a bit of a tea collection that I still need to drink my way through before I can justify making any other tea purchases.

20130502-143908.jpg

What, you don’t have size boxes of tea at your desk?

After deciding on Caramel Apple Spice, I headed towards the checkout. Of course I had to walk through every aisle along the way and score some more free samples. Before I reached the line to check out, I was side-tracked by the frozen foods aisle. It was warm outside and I wanted something for dessert – never mind that I hadn’t eaten lunch yet.

icecreamaisle

Anyway, I always see these Arctic Zero ice cream pints in the display and always wondering how you can make a whole pint of ice cream for just 150 calories. For those who haven’t heard the hype, Arctic Zero is famous for making 150-calorie pints of ice cream in a variety of different flavors. The calorie count is low because it’s sweetened with monk fruit and contains whey protein powder, so it’s like a frozen protein shake.

Anyway, it was a weak moment and I caved and purchased the Vanilla Maple flavor and brought it back to the office. It had time to soften on my walk over and I dug in, eager to discover what 150-calorie ice cream tastes like.

vanillamapleI knew going into it that it wasn’t going to taste like real ice cream, but it really was just…lacking. I found myself eating spoonful after spoonful trying to get something out of it. Nope, wasn’t gonna happen. It wasn’t bad-tasting and it resembled sort of a vanilla maple sorbet instead of ice cream. It just wasn’t doing it for me though and I gave up about a quarter of the way into the pint. Now it’s hidden in the back of the office freezer until I get an uncontrollable urge for something sweet.

I haven’t tried the other flavors (and at $4.99/pint I probably won’t ever buy them) but I would suggest that you save your money and go for the real deal. Better yet, freeze and blend a banana and some strawberries and you’ve got a more flavorful dessert with loads of nutrients that tastes delicious and is good for you to boot.

The moral of today’s story is there are some things you just can’t fake.

8 Responses to “Some Things You Just Can’t Fake”

  1. pickyrunner May 2, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    I tried arctic zero last fall and I couldn’t get over how AWFUL it was! I didn’t like it at all. I tried the cookies and cream flavor (which is supposed to be the best) and I felt like I was eating ice with a watered down flavor. I guess that’s technically kind of what it is. I’ll take a full fat, big scoop of coldstone any day. I guess I shouldn’t expect any differently since there’s no way ice cream can taste good if it’s only 150 calories for an entire pint.

  2. Brittany @ FreckledNettles May 2, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

    Have you ever tried the cookies and cream Arctic Zero? My fav!

  3. My Nomad Life May 3, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    Good to know. Had thought of buying it.

  4. Laney May 5, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    We tried the cookies n cream last week. It left much to be desired. It just tasted chemically, almost like I was eating slightly flavored crushed ice. I’d rather go Skinny Cow any day. Have you tried their snickerdoodle sandwich? OMG it is the best 150 calories I have ever put in my mouth.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta May 5, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      I have their vanilla and cookies and cream sandwiches and they’re delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Signs of a Poser Blogger | Magia e Pasta - May 16, 2013

    […] yogurt!), but most of the time it is better for me to eat a smaller amount of the real thing than try to fake it and feel unsatisfied. Some people can feel satisfied with fruit as dessert. I am not one of those […]

Your turn to share!

