Resolving the Identity Crisis & Blog Announcement

26 Apr

So many of you probably remember my identity crisis with regards to my blog. Shortly after I posted, the Boston Marathon tragedy happened and it felt way too frivolous to write about anything other than what was going on. I’m not sure what I consider to be an acceptable “mourning period” in terms of blog writing, but I am going to talk about resolving said identity crisis.

Briefly recap-ing my previous post, I was taking issue with the fact that “Sara on the blog” did not feel or sound like “Sara in real life”. The real-life Sara is obsessed with travel and different cultures and food (duh). My idea of a good time is listening to food podcasts and reading articles in the ‘Travel’ section of the New York Times. I wish somebody could pay me just to spend all day learning languages. My dream job would be to travel to far-flung places around the world to see how food plays a role in culture and then write about it for all to see.

Is healthy living important to me? Absolutely. Do I love to work out and help people find ways to move their bodies? Without a doubt. But I have always been of the belief that the title of any written work is the window into the story and I remembering agonizing forย hours over papers I couldn’t begin to write because I couldn’t think of a suitable title. I am aware that starting with a title and writing from there is on all the Top-10 lists of what not to do when you are writing but that is how I have always operated.

So, with that said, I want to announce that I’m going to be renaming my blog (and getting a redesign soon!) to reflect my true passions: food, other cultures, travel, and learning.

I bet you probably want to know what I’m naming it, huh?

I was planning on holding off until everything was ready to be “unveiled”, but I figured this would ease the transition. Plus I bought the URL so nobody can steal it from me. HA.

Drum roll please!

The new name of my baby blog will be…

Taste in Translation

Phew.ย It sounds ludicrous but it feels kind of cathartic to see it in writing.

Do you like it? It just rolls off the tongue so well and I feel as if it perfectly encapsulates what I want to write and represent on the blog. A little bit of food, a little multiculturalism, plus a play on words to reflect my love of languages. It just…fits.

Melodrama, much?

Anyway, it shouldn’t be too much of a rough transition – I’ve been blogging under a year and I don’t yet have a “brand” that would be negatively impacted by the switch, so I’m going for it sooner rather than later. Once I figure out the blog redesign and that’s ready for public viewing, I will do the official switch – changing the blog title and URL (although if you type magiaepasta.com it will redirect to the new site), renaming my Twitter handle, Facebook page, and Instagram account so everything is uniform. All in all, I feel like it will be fine, but I just wanted to give you guys a heads up.

I want to thank everybody for their encouraging words in my first post when I was fretting about changing the name. I knew deep down that it was what I wanted to do, but sometimes you need a little push in order to take the leap ๐Ÿ™‚

And with that, I will wish you a very happy Friday. Anything exciting on the books? I have a friend’s going away party to attend and I’m also hoping to get out into the wilderness with Stef and enjoy a nice long hike! It’s not Miami, Allison, but it will have to do. Wishing you all a very happy weekend!

5 Responses to “Resolving the Identity Crisis & Blog Announcement”

  1. Aunt Rebecca April 26, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Sounds perfect! Since change is the only constant, I say go for it!

  2. mary @ minutes per mile April 26, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    good luck with the new blog! can’t wait to follow you at your new home.

  3. pickyrunner April 26, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    I love it!!!! Can’t wait to see where it takes you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 April 29, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Hooray! I love this! I’m wicked happy for you girl ๐Ÿ™‚ I was wondering when you were going to act on your identity crisis. I’ve been waiting for it haha. I read your latest post while I was at the beach (don’t hate me) and couldn’t wait to respond when I got back. Again, so happy for you. Also, I’ve been thinking of doing something similar so it’s helpful seeing someone else taking the plunge.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta April 30, 2013 at 11:31 am #

      Thanks for your support, lady! We’ll how it goes – baby steps, ya know? Excited to hear what you have in store, too ๐Ÿ™‚

Your turn to share!

