Oof.

19 Apr

Boy has it been a heavy week. My eyes have been glued to the computer screen all day, searching for every live news update I can get about what’s happening in Boston. It feels like an action movie, which reminds me why I hate action movies: lots of violence, loud noises, and scary moments for no real purpose. The difference is this is not make-believe and so many peoples’ lives are changing in a veryย real way.

Even thinking about the fact that it’s Friday and my work commitments are all put on hold over the weekend, while those with SWAT and the Boston PD probably haven’t slept a wink since Monday. Public service is extraordinary.

I will probably spend the majority of my weekend in awe of how insulated my life is from violence and fear and so many tragic circumstances that so many people have to live with on a day-to-day basis. It makes my hurt heart to think about human suffering, but the events of late have been a huge exercise in a Buddhist teaching that I have been trying to embrace. I am not Buddhist, but I really resonate with some of the wisdom that comes out of its teachings, namely the path of non-attachment with regards to suffering.

“Attachment is the origin, the root of suffering; hence it is the cause of suffering.”

Here is a very good explanation of what it means to be “attached” and how detaching can alleviate suffering, a seemingly paradoxical statement.

For your sake, I will try to leave you with something not quite so heavy – a recipe. I find cooking and baking to be hugely therapeutic and making dinner every evening helps me to take my mind off of things that may have been plaguing me all day.

Today’s recipe is for Southwestern Style Bell Peppers. I first tried these out on Valentine’s Day with Stefano and promised to post a recipe. Well, I looked and there’s no recipe to be found! on this blog. Luckily, I included it in a contributing article with The DC Ladies and you may find it here. It’s hearty and comforting, but won’t weigh you down. Extra bonus points for being gluten free and vegetarian (vegan if you don’t add the cheese on top)!

peppers1

I made it with one of the most important ingredients: love. I think that’s the special something that makes food taste delicious.

Share the love this weekend, promise?

Your turn to share!

