Identity Crisis

12 Apr

First off, I want to thank each and every one of you who left a comment with well-wishes for my aunt. Her surgery went well and she is still in the hospital recovery room, but will hopefully be released today so she can spend the rest of the healing time in the comfort of her own home. Thanks again for all the love and support – you are wonderful!

For awhile now, I have been thinking about undergoing a metamorphosis with regards to this blog. Some of you might have seen this Tweet:

tweet

Since starting the blog nine months ago, I have started to come into my own in my writing and what I choose to write about. You might remember the post  where I confessed that I didn’t particularly enjoy constantly talking about myself on a day to day basis, nor did I like posting my daily eats (taking out a camera every time I’m about to put something in my mouth is so annoying!!!). The main reason behind it was that I do a lot of the same things every day and eat a lot of the same foods on a regular basis. What can I say? I’m a creature of habit.

One of the biggest takeaways from my epiphany was this:

“I don’t want my writing space to be an amalgamation of hurried sentences and incoherent thoughts – I want it to be a space for me to showcase my passions through the medium of writing and the lens of food.

Because I love food. Really, I do.

I love travel and new cultures and learning, but especially as it relates to food and eating.”

That, my friends, is what triggered the decision to change my blog name.

I have been weighing the pros and cons for awhile because some people have strong opinions about whether or not you should change your blog’s name after you’ve begun writing. My reasoning is that while it seems like I’ve been writing forever, a blog less than a year old is really a baby blog (with the exceptions of those who have garnered massive readership in one year – kudos!). I’m still learning tons about blogs and my relationship towards them have evolved and changed since last summer.

On the other hand, I don’t want to lose the the relationships with people, products, and companies because of my name change. A name change necessitates an email change and on and on. I’m bound to lose a few in the move. The question is, is it worth it?

So that’s where you come in, dear readers. What do you think???

Do you think it would be too confusing for people to get used to? Should I do it sooner rather than later before I hit my anniversary?

I want to know your thoughts!

Wishing you all a wonderful weekend. The day started out with some massive April showers here, but now the sun is peeking through!

Much love,

10 Responses to “Identity Crisis”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 April 12, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    DO IT DO IT DO IT! I’m all in for new beginnings and doing what feels right for you, dude. I completely understand some of the things holding you back from jumping right in and changing things up, but I am in full support of you just doing you. Paddle your own canoe, girl.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta April 12, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      Thank you girl, your support means a lot and thanks for kicking my butt when I need it! I will paddle away 🙂

      • wickedhealthywashingtonian33 April 13, 2013 at 8:27 am #

        I’ll be impatiently waiting your new reveal 🙂

  2. theadventuresofzandk April 12, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    I’ve quickly become a big supporter of you (and I’m pretty sure we should be MD-DC friends) and think that regardless of what you call it other people will be able to make that same connection. This little slice of the internet is yours, so do what YOU feel is right!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta April 12, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Kerry, you are wonderful! The feeling of support is completely mutual and I am so happy for the Internet for “bringing us together” 🙂

  3. mary @ minutes per mile April 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    what’s in a name? change it. your blog, your life girlfriend.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta April 12, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      Thank you! I know, but sometimes it’s nice to hear it from someone else 🙂

  4. pickyrunner April 12, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Those who you have steady relationships with will continue following you! You’ve got me at least 🙂

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta April 12, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      Of course and I’m so thankful for you!!! Although you’re supposed to be enjoying yourself with someone and not commenting on blogs right now 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Resolving the Identity Crisis & Blog Announcement | Magia e Pasta - April 26, 2013

    […] many of you probably remember my identity crisis with regards to my blog. Shortly after I posted, the Boston Marathon tragedy happened and it felt […]

Your turn to share!

