Dealing With Cancer

11 Apr

I’m putting out a special request for all my readers today. My aunt is going in for surgery today and I would love and appreciate it if you could send some well wishes her way.

More specifically, she is going into surgery to get a hysterectomy today because she was recently diagnosed with cervical cancer.

She has always been extremely well educated when it comes to her body and knows all about preventative care, so she went to the doctor as soon as she knew something was amiss. Luckily, because of her pro-activity, they caught it in its very early stages and her rate of recovery is supposed to be quite high.

She has a team of extremely qualified medical professionals taking care of her and a wonderful support system when she gets home, so I know that she’ll be on the mend in no time!

Hearing the news from her did shock me initially. I am lucky to come from an extremely healthy family – all four of my grandparents are still alive and the only family member I have known who has passed was my great-grandma (and she was in her nineties!). As grateful as I am for the health of my loved ones and for myself, I am not very experienced when it comes to illness and I sometimes take for granted the fact that I am rarely, if ever, sick.

So this quick post is a just a gentle reminder for myself and everybody who is reading to thank our bodies for doing what they’re supposed to (mostly) day in and day out. Healthy eating, exercise, and mental wellness are just some of the ways we can help our bodies do their jobs as well as possible. It’s also a message to not take your health for granted, because you never know when that might change.

While I believe in my heart that my aunt is going to weather the storm just fine, it was still scary to hear the big C-word come into conversation.

So be well, take care of your body, and (if you are so inclined) send some love and light towards Aunt Rebecca!

Much love,

8 Responses to “Dealing With Cancer”

  1. Melissa R. April 11, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Hey Sara, keeping your family in my thoughts and prayers. My aunt just celebrated her 5-year mark of being (breast) cancer free—and she’s in her 70s! Like you said, with a strong support system and great team of doctors your aunt is in good hands!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta April 11, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      Thank you so much, Melissa! Congratulations to your aunt, that’s a wonderful milestone 🙂

  2. theadventuresofzandk April 11, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    Happy thoughts!

  3. pickyrunner April 11, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    I’ll be thinking of you and your aunt. I hope everything goes well!

  4. bezzymates April 11, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Best wishes and a speedy recovery to your aunt, Sara. It’s so true, listening to our bodies and knowing when something is not right is a big part of being healthy.

Your turn to share!

