The Time I Made Bread on a Cookie Sheet

10 Apr

As I sat on the couch watching March Madness play out last weekend, I was gripped with an urge for breakfast bread. You know, those breads that are a little too sweet to use for sandwiches, but can’t qualify as dessert? They usually have cinnamon and some kind of sweet fruit in it and you can top it with butter or jam. Unfortunately, I don’t have that kind of bread laying around (probably for the better) and my craving was much too sudden to create a bread with yeast and letting it rise and all that jazz. So I got to experimenting.

I managed to come up with a recipe I felt fairly confident would yield some bread-like substance (hello, baking powder!) but ran into a snafu when I discovered that Stefano didn’t have a bread pan (I was at his house). The dough had already been made and there was no going back, so I molded the dough into some kind of loaf-like shape, plopped it on a greased cookie sheet, and hoped for the best.

IMG_2336[1]While the slices were a bit biscotti-like in their shape, the taste turned out great and half the loaf was gone almost right out of the oven. That’s the thing about freshly baked bread, it never lasts for too long after the aromas have been wafting around the house while it bakes. By the time it comes out of the oven you have an audience of eager tasters to snag a slice while it’s warm and delicious.

IMG_2335[1]I was craving a little sweetness and lots of texture, so I used a healthy amount of raw oats and some raisins, nutmeg, and cinnamon to sweeten things up and make the house smell delicious. I would probably recommend using an actual bread pan for this, but know that a cookie sheet will work in a pinch! Also, it tasted even better and was easier to slice the next morning, lending itself nicely to leftovers. This is a pretty dense, hearty bread, but it’s wonderful because you can manipulate it to suit your needs. Want something savory? Take out the honey, raisins, and spices and throw in some cheddar and chives. Feeling a plain loaf? Just use the ingredients list through the milk and you’ve got a basic oat quick bread. Use your imagination!

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Quick Bread

Makes one loaf
  • 2 cups oats (you could grind some or all of them if you wanted a smoother texture, but I love the added chewy component of leaving them whole)
  • 2 cups flour (I used white but whole wheat would work nicely, too)
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder (we aren’t using yeast, remember?)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1.5 cups milk (I used vanilla soy milk, but regular milk is fine – though the vanilla did add a nice aroma)]
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • Optional: Granulated sugar for topping; any other fillings you want to put in – walnuts or pecans would be great in this
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine flour, oatmeal, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix honey, applesauce, and milk.
  4. Mix wet and dry ingredients, then fold in raisins (and whatever else you want!).
  5. Pour batter into greased bread pan and bake for 1 hour.

In the last 10 minutes or so, I sprinkled some granulated sugar on the top so the crust would be a little sweet and crunchy.

IMG_2337[1]

Love the bits of raisin and oats!

For quality control purposes, I tried it with some butter…

IMG_2339[1]Some strawberry jelly…

IMG_2340[1]And peanut butter.

Before I knew it, half the loaf had gone missing. Don’t look at me…

I’ll probably do another post where I actually cook it in a proper pan, but desperate times called for desperate measures and this worked in a pinch. Let me know if you decide to experiment with this recipe and how it turned out!

Buon appetito!

Your turn to share!

