[Recipe] Baked Flounder with Rainbow Chard and Avocado

26 Mar

During the most recent Costco adventure with Stefano, I took a wrong turn while looking for ice cream sandwiches and stumbled upon the frozen fish aisle. For some reason, cooking fish has always seemed daunting to me and I usually leave it to the professionals when I go out to dinner. Lately I have been experimenting with making fish at home and I have had good success with salmon (one down!). I ended up coming home with some frozen flounder fillets where they were promptly placed in a corner of my freezer and forgotten. I think I avoided the flounder for so long because I had horrible visions of eating this little guy…

How can you eat that face? The “fish are friends, not food” motto from Finding Nemo comes immediately to mind. Eventually, curiosity got the better of me and I was able to put aside the Disney-fueled, finned friends fantasy (try saying that repeatedly) in order to give it a go.

Because I wanted minimal prep time and I was trying not to use too many ingredients hoping to keep the authentic flavor of the fish, I decided to make it in the oven. Minimal work on my part, simple, and delicious.

IMG_2272[1]

Baked Flounder with Rainbow Chard and Avocado

  • 2 thawed flounder fillets (they’re fairly thing, so two fillets is good for a meal)
  • 5 oz. rainbow chard (I used the pre-washed, pre-chopped Kaleidoscope Chard from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • Sprinkles of salt, pepper, and any other seasoning you’d like
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  1. Set your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. As your oven is pre-heating, places the fillets on a sheet of aluminum foil and rub with olive oil, then top with seasoning and lemon juice.
  3. Fold the aluminum foil up into a packet and pop in the oven for 25 minutes.
  4. Just before the fillets are done, rinse the rainbow chard and put on plate (without drying!) in the microwave for about 1 minute. The water left on the leaves will lightly steam the chard and cause it to wilt, making a perfect bed for the fillets.
  5. Unwrap the foil packet, place fillets and added juices on bed of chard and add sliced avocado.

If you’re like me then you’re going to have more avocado than anything else, which is not a bad thing. If you don’t want to consume a whole avocado, feel free to only add a few slices as a garnish. The creaminess of the fish pairs very nicely with the texture of the avocado.

You could dress the chard, but I don’t see the need because the juices from the fillet add a nice subtly flavor to the greens without being overpowering.

Total time? 30 minutes, most of which was spent anxiously waiting for the fish to be done. Weeknight meal success!

IMG_2273[1]

2 Responses to “[Recipe] Baked Flounder with Rainbow Chard and Avocado”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 March 26, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Yeah girl! Get on the seafood train! I’m all for this recent development in your home cooked meals.

  2. Ana April 1, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    Hi, I’m Ana from Fooduel.com. It is a site in which users vote recipes
    from 1 to 10.

    There is a ranking of the best recipes and a profile with your voted recipes. Each recipe has a link to the blog which belongs the recipe. This way you will get traffic to your blog.

    It’s easy, fast and fun. The best Photo recipes will be here.

    I invite you to enter, add your blog and upload a recipe with a nice photo.

    You are able to see your stats:

    -Number of visits to your blog from Fooduel.com.
    -Number of votes received every day
    -Number of votes received by each category
    -Number of votes for each grade (1-10)
    -Number of votes for each recipe.

    Look this example of one profile stats: http://fooduel.com/stats1.png

    We would love that you participate with some recipe. Looks Amazing!

    Regards

    http://www.Fooduel.com

Your turn to share!

