Cursed

18 Mar

Okay guys, I know I was joking around on Friday when I joked about the Rock ‘n’ Roll USA race going better for Stef than his last one did…but I think I jinxed it.

After a nice relaxed evening of Trader Joe’s shopping and watching Flight (pretty decent movie, actually), we headed off to bed so we wouldn’t be too exhausted for the 5:30 AM wake-up call.

3:15 AM: Sara wakes up to strange noises coming from the bathrom; realizes Stefano is not in the room.

3:16 AM: Sara goes into bathroom to discover Stefano huddled over toilet, post-vomit.

3:20 AM: Sara and Stefano go back to sleep.

Repeat for hours 4, 5, and 6.

After the final flush of the night morning, it was decided that the chances of Stefano making it to the starting line were slim to none. He finally went back to bed and remained there for the rest of the day. His big move was dragging himself over to the couch to watch Rivalry Weekend for MLS soccer on TV.

Another Rock ‘n’ Roll race gone and Stefano has the t-shirts but not the medals to show for it. Poor guy has the worst luck.

It sounds like it was bunches of fun though, many congratulations to all my fellow bloggers who raced! 13.1 miles is no joke.

After playing nurse for the day, I left Stef parked on the couch with some hot water with lemon and honey and met up with my roommates to go to the FBI vs. Secret Service hockey game.

IMG_2234[1]

 

Though we showed up right before the game started, we were able to snag seats up front with a really good view of the game. My only knowledge of hockey involves fistfights and time-out boxes so I was eager to see what a real game looked like.

IMG_2236[1]Turns out FBI and S.S. men/women are all about the fights and time-out boxes, too, so they did little to change my opinion of the sport. I think the refs were calling it tighter than usual, but there weren’t any neat brawls where helmets were thrown off and teeth went missing.

hockey

 

It was fun to watch, though. The FBI ended up losing to the Secret Service 3-6, but everybody was pretty good natured about the whole thing.

IMG_2237[1]I made it back to Stef’s just in time to watch the Sounders play the Portland Timbers – I can’t believe we blew a goal in the last few minutes of the game. Our team is looking pretty solid though, I’m expecting quite a few W’s this season.

Okay folks, it’s getting to be late over here and my alarm is set for an early morning yoga class, so it’s time to hustle my butt to bed. This week I’m recap-ing my time at the NBC Health and Fitness Expo and the amazing night at the Embassy Chef Challenge (I’m still fantasizing about the food!).

How was everybody’s weekend? Is it looking like spring in your neck of the woods yet? It snowed in D.C. today, so I’m gonna go with a big fat ‘NO’ over here.

Have a wonderful night and I’ll catch up with you tomorrow!

xox,

S

 

 

One Response to “Cursed”

  1. pickyrunner March 19, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    Aw I’m sorry he didn’t get to run. Probably a smart decision on his part. I made a similar decision on Friday even though it was as a result of being physically sick. It’s always a tough choice but he probably was being smart. Wouldn’t be very fun vomiting the entire race!

Your turn to share!

