Frazzled

14 Mar

Apparently I was more out of it than I thought yesterday, because I definitely posted ‘Tuesday Tidbits’ thinking it was Tuesday when it was, in fact, Wednesday. Smooth move, Sara. The good news is that I woke up thinking it was Wednesday and it’s actually Thursday! One day closer to the weekend? I’ll take it.

I have been having a few knee issues since I picked up this whole running bug (yes, I’m still treating it like an illness – there’s no way this is normal behavior). Nothing major, just some tightness and a little sore behind the kneecaps. Nevertheless, I decided to do a ~3 mile walk home from work instead of hitting the gym yesterday.

To tell you the truth, I was feeling guilty about not working out. I’m not going to be able to make it to the gym today because of the embassy event tonight (where there will be tons of delicious food), so I was hoping to really kick some butt on Wednesday to make up for it. When I arrived home earlier than usual, I felt as if I had to put off dinner until my “usual dinner time” of 7:30, when I could have just eaten then and there – I was certainly hungry enough.

Do you ever feel like you can only eat at specific times or intervals? Because my day is fairly regimented, I have gotten into the habit of eating meals at specific times. That’s fine and dandy, but I am not comfortable with the fact that I feel bad or guilty if I snack during “off” times. Meg has been doing a lot of work on intuitive eating lately and I’m thinking that I need to spend a bit of time listening to my body and honoring its hunger cues and cravings.

Well, may not all cravings. Otherwise I would be eating pasta and ice cream all day, every day ๐Ÿ˜‰

Food For Thought: Do you have scheduled times to eat your meals or do you eat whenever you feel hungry? What are some signs you pick up on when you feel hunger setting in?

For me, I can always tell that my blood sugar is low or I’m feeling hungry when my head starts to ache and I get cranky. When I was growing up, my mom would have the hardest time trying to feed me after I had reached that hunger “tipping point”. Nothing she suggested would sound appealing and my mood would just go downhill. Eventually, she figured out that she just needed to stick a plate of food in front me and I would eat it.

hunger

Stefano had to learn a similar lesson when we started dating. Now, whenever I am whiny (-ier than usual?), he knows that Sara’s stomach clock has gone off and it’s time to get some food going.

7 Responses to “Frazzled”

  1. adashofmeg March 14, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Hey sweetie! Thanks so much for mentioning me here โค You're such a sweetheart! I am so happy you've been reading my posts xoxo

    P.s. never feel guilty about not going to the gym ๐Ÿ™‚ You don't have to go to the gym just because you're eating delicious foods ๐Ÿ˜‰ โค

    Love ya

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta March 14, 2013 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks for reading, Meg! Really loving the work you’ve been doing on intuitive eating recently, it’s inspirational. Also, thanks for the reminder – food shouldn’t make us feel guilty, it should make us feel satisfied!

  2. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 March 14, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    Oh my God, girl- the whole guilt thing? I totally feel you. It’s the absolute worst. I went to yoga on Monday and yoga last night and felt so guilty that I wasn’t working out “for real” and it messed with my head in terms of my eating routine (because I wasn’t doing my normal cardio and intense workouts). Not a real consolation prize, but you’re certainly not alone.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta March 14, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      I’ve been writing yoga off as “not a real workout” recently, too. Let’s hold each other accountable for taking the time to listen to our bodies and honoring our time on the mat ๐Ÿ™‚

      • wickedhealthywashingtonian33 March 14, 2013 at 10:59 am #

        YES. Because seriously, yoga is supposed to de-stress us, not add more stress into our brains.

  3. pickyrunner March 14, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    Walking 3 miles from work is nothing to snub. It’s a workout even if you don’t feel like it. Running 3 miles is no better than walking 3. It’s a hard lesson to accept but once you do, you’ll be much happier. As for meal times, I’m the same way. On Wednesdays I lifeguard 5-9 but I won’t eat my dinner until 6 even if I’m starving at 5:56. It sounds ridiculous and it is. 4 minutes makes no difference. This week I’ve been really pushing those boundaries. I’d challenge you to do the same AND have a blast tonight at the event ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta March 14, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      Thanks for sharing your experiences, Sarah! It’s nice to have somebody to help hold you accountable – we can work together on not basing our appetites off the clock. I am so looking forward to the event tonight! I’ll be sure to share all about it ๐Ÿ™‚

Your turn to share!

