Skyline and Sasquatch

8 Mar

It’s Friday, Friday! This week really flew by, thanks to our impromptu “snow storm” on Wednesday. I am looking forward to the supposed 60-degree weather that’s supposed to be visiting town. Then again, after Wednesday’s apocalyptic fail, I really shouldn’t believe anything the weatherman says anymore.

After my run last night (3.1 miles/28 minutes), I came home and made another gargantuan salad. Right after I finished, my roommate said she was making Skyline and asked if I wanted to try it. I had no idea what it was, so of course I said “yes”. As she was making it, I grilled her on what exactly I was going to be consuming.

IMG_2162[1]Apparently, Skyline is a quintessential Cincinnati meal, as based off of a chain of local restaurants in Cincy, though they have expanded and now have stores in Indiana, Kentucky, and Florida. It was first invented by a Greek immigrant in 1949 and is now a culinary staple for the lovely people of southwest Ohio. As was explained to me, there are specific ways the chili can be made:

  • Cheese coneys (a hot dog topped with Skyline Chili, mustard, onions, and cheese)
  • 3-ways (spaghetti topped with Skyline Chili and cheese)
  • 4-ways (choice of beans or onions added)
  • 5-ways (beans and onions both added)
  • Burritos made with Skyline Chili (called the Chilito)

I was first introduced to Skyline in the form of another popular Cincinnatian staple: “Skyline Dip.” It is made with layers of cream cheese, canned Skyline Chili, and shredded cheddar cheese and then baked for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. My roommate made a batch for the big Seahawks-Redskins football game and I ate half the pan without batting an eye.

Our particular variation last night was four-ways with spaghetti, chili, shredded cheese, and onions. Delicious.

Despite double dinner last night, my tummy was grumbling for breakfast this morning. The omelette I made was definitely one of my more successful attempts – they usually fall apart when I try to flip them so the eggs end up looking like more of a frittata or hash. Everything stayed in once piece this time!

IMG_2165[1]Three eggs with sauteed mushrooms and spinach on the inside. On top, I spread a wedge of Garlic and Herb Laughing Cow cheese and topped it with some smoked Sockeye salmon so it was a 2 in 1 breakfast: omelette on the inside, cheese and lox on the outside. The only thing that could have made it better is if the whole thing was wedged between two bagel slices.

Did I just say that? I watched too many episodes of Best Food Ever during our Wednesday vacay. This gem of a television show brought my attention to the Sasquatch: a half-pound burger wedged in between a grilled cheese sandwich and a BLT. Yes, it’s a real thing. You can find it at The Lodge in Scottsdale, Arizona.

It’ll set you back $16.50 but hey, then you don’t have to eat for the rest of the week.

What meal is your city known for? Have you ever been to a restaurant that was featured on a television show?

Seattle has a couple of places that are “famous” – Paseo has the best Cuban sandwiches ever and Beth’s is the diviest diner, but boasts a 12-egg omelette. Yes, 12 eggs. PLUS all their meals come with unlimited refills of hash browns. Why did I leave that city?

Beths-Cafe-12-Egg-Omelette

In case you were wondering, it weighs about 10 pounds.

So tell me about the crazy restaurant items you’ve encountered – have you ever done something ridiculous like a TurDucken?

turducken

[ via Tumblr]

The craziest my family ever got was having a goose for Thanksgiving dinner. It was scrumptious, like having a turkey with only dark meat (my fave).

Now that I’ve made myself simultaneously hungry and nauseous, I think I’m going to call it quits and wish you all a very pleasant weekend. Spring is almost here, I can feel it!

Lots of love,

4 Responses to “Skyline and Sasquatch”

  1. pickyrunner March 8, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    I’m obsessed with going to famous places I see on TV. That’s the only way I’ll drag my butt to the gym, actually. THere has to be a good show on food network or travel channel telling me where to eat. I guess you could call that counterproductive if I make plans to go eat my weight in food after workout out, but it is what it is.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta March 8, 2013 at 11:28 am #

      I totally did the same thing in college!!! We didn’t have cable so I would go to the gym to watch the Food Network. No shame 🙂

  2. Meaghan - dc fit crasher March 9, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    So funny to see Skyline on your blog! I’m from Cincinnati and it’s a hometown obsession. Next time you need to make the Skyline dip, it’s a party in a pan: layer cream cheese, onions, chili, cheddar cheese. Et voila!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta March 12, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

      My roommate made that for a football game once! I’m pretty sure I ate half the pan myself…that stuff is ADDICTIVE.

Your turn to share!

