10 For 10

7 Mar

Don’t worry guys, I made it through the #snowquester (hashtag required). IMG_2153[1]

It’s funny because that picture was taken during the half hour or so in the morning that it actually snowed. The rest of the day it slushed – not quite cold enough for snow, but too cold for only rain.

Don't worry, it will be in the mid-60's by the weekend?

Don’t worry, it will be in the mid-60’s by the weekend?

So even though the weather was not as disastrous as everybody predicted, it was still not very pleasant outside and I was content to sit inside with my mug of tea after waking up at 6:15.

But then it hit noon.

And I got restless.

Then this happened:

IMG_2156[1]Yep, yours truly went for an outdoor run in that hot mess of a “storm”. I’m not sure who was more surprised, myself or Stefano, after I called him up to deliver the news. I can honestly say that this is the first time in my life that I have run outside in inclement weather. Cabin fever will do that to you? I honestly don’t know who I’m turning into.

The rest of the day was pretty average – hanging around the house, watching too many episodes of the Biggest Loser with roommates, and plenty of snacking.

One meal highlight was this ginormous salad that feature a whole avocado and a large portobello mushroom with a fried egg inside.

IMG_2159[1]Delicious does not even begin to describe. A friend of my roommate was over at the house and, upon seeing the size of my salad, bet me that I couldn’t finish it in one go. Oh, you poor naive girl. I killed the thing in about 5 minutes and her eyes looked like saucers when she saw the empty bowl. Should I be proud or ashamed?

Non-meal highlight: in bed by 9:30 PM, waking up at 7 AM. Why yes, #snowquester, I will take 9 1/2 hours of sleep.

10 for 10

So one of my very favorite companies, Chobani, posted a blog the other day that really intrigued me.

10for10_LOGOThey admitted that they were a little behind on the New Year’s resolution thing, but still wanted to set up some personal goals to achieve throughout the year. The challenge? Set one goal for each of the remaining months of 2013. They can be as simple as crossing a restaurant you’ve wanted to visit off your list or larger growth goals like applying for a new job or travel to a new country. I love this because I am an obsessive planner and I love having things to look forward to. What’s great about this is it breaks up the monotony of having one longgggg goal that you’re trying to achieve throughout the year and keeps it interesting by switching it up each month. Visit their site if you want to see what some of Team Cho’s goals are and share with the rest of those participating on Twitter by using the hashtag #10for10.

Sara’s 10 for 10

  • March: Get on my yoga mat at least twice a week (so far, so good!).
  • April: Drink my body weight in ounces of water per day (that’s going to be a doozy).
  • May:  Have a weekend picnic.
  • June: Update my resume/CV.
  • July: Keep up workout/eating habits while on vacation (I will be in Seattle for the first part of the month).
  • August: Take a trip to the beach.
  • September: Pretend I am a student and register for some kind of class.
  • October: Have a birthday party (I never do anything for my birthday).
  • November: Host a Friendsgiving.
  • December: Have $10,000 dollars saved by the end of the year.

Your turn! Share some of the things you’d like off your bucket list this year.

11 Responses to “10 For 10”

  1. theadventuresofzandk March 7, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    Love this idea. I’m a planner too and think making a goal for each month is awesome. I’ll have to brainstorm others but I know one for sure: December–get married!

  2. pickyrunner March 7, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    It’s funny… I woke up this morning thinking about doing a few goals I would create for myself. I like the 10 goals in 10 months thing. That way you’re not overwhelmed by doing all of them at once. Ideally, the ones you pick in the first month will stay with you through the 10th and beyond so they become a routine. Also, I thought about running in the rain yesterday and then opted for a rest day. Good for you! Looks like a great run 🙂

  3. Chobani (@Chobani) March 7, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    Sara –

    Awesome! We’d love to see you share your #10for10 goals AND accomplishments on Twitter, as well! We want to see that March yoga photo STAT! *winks*

    You rock! Thanks so for being a part of our #10for10 goal-setting.

    -Chobani

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta March 7, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

      Don’t you worry, I will keep you updated! Thanks for reading 🙂

      • Chobani (@Chobani) March 7, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

        Shoot me an email at Karen.Fries [at] chobani dot com. Would love to chat!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skyline and Sasquatch | Magia e Pasta - March 8, 2013

    […] my run last night (3.1 miles/28 minutes), I came home and made another gargantuan salad. Right after I finished, my roommate said she was making Skyline and asked if I wanted to try it. I […]

  2. Tuesday Tidbits | Magia e Pasta - March 13, 2013

    […] have been really good about this month’s goal to go to yoga at least twice a week. My yoga classes are Tuesday and Thursday mornings, so making a […]

  3. Chobani Yogurt -Our Blog -10 for 10: Time's A Flyin'! - Chobani Yogurt - May 1, 2013

    […] Magia e Pasta […]

  4. The One Where I’m a Yogi | Magia e Pasta - May 9, 2013

    […] I decided to commit to Chobani’s 10 for 10 goals back in March, my first goal was to attend yoga more regularly and […]

Your turn to share!

