Not Sure When That Happened

28 Feb

At some point this month, I turned into a runner.

IMG_2106[1]Not sure when that happened, but I have been running for my workouts at least 4 days this past week. As someone who usually only runs when somebody is chasing her (or when her boyfriend convinces her to race), nobody is more surprised than myself. Yesterday I popped on the treadmill for a short run because I had to get home to work on a translation project that I am doing. I’ll tell you, there’s nothing like 60 pages of translating to make you feel simultaneously proud and embarrassed about your skills in a foreign language.

My dinner was in two parts because I did a horrible job of timing when to start cooking my salmon. I had some sweet potato fries roasting in the oven and thought they would be done by the time my salmon fillet was done, but nope. So while I was ready for this:

IMG_2109[1]The sweet potatoes were still in here:

IMG_2108[1]Sigh.

I am love love loving sweet potato fries this week – they are totally worth the wait.

Since I had plans to go to yoga this morning, I also prepped some overnight oats in advance for breakfast. This batch included sliced strawberries and shredded coconut.

IMG_2107[1]Even though I’m not anywhere tropical, my breakfast doesn’t need to know that!

After a less than stellar night’s sleep, I made it to yoga this morning (whoohoo! Two for two this week!) and was, once again, super thankful I did. After two classes I am feeling so relaxed and can feel the tension in my shoulders and hips easing up a bit. I’m on the lookout for some at home yoga videos (preferably online) so I can do it from home on the weekends.

This morning, our instructor really focused on loosening up the hamstrings, so there was a lot of this:

trikonasanaAnd this:

reclined-big-toe-pose-exI definitely can’t do that – thank goodness for straps!

This evening, I am looking forward to an extra special spin class at Revolve. They are hosting a class for DC fitness bloggers and I am so excited to meet people like Anne, Joelle, and Meaghan. Of course, my girl Allison will be there, as well. I can’t wait to work out with these ladies and so many other great bloggers I have yet to meet!

I have heard so many wonderful things about the studio and I think it’s going to be amazing, particularly because I have never tried spin outside of my gym.

Then it’s Friday and the first day of March! Holy cow, did February fly or what? I need to start getting my act together to plan something special for Stef’s birthday at the end of the month, so give me some ideas, folks! After six years’ worth of birthdays, Valentine’s Days, anniversaries, and Christmas-es, my creative juices are running a little low.

Food For Thought: If you are a blogger, have you ever been to a blogger meet-up? How did it go?

10 Responses to “Not Sure When That Happened”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 February 28, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    I feel like I haven’t seen you in ages… good thing we at least have some idea of what is going on in each other’s lives thanks to our blogs haha. I can’t wait for later- I definitely need some positive vibes from everyone.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta February 28, 2013 at 10:37 am #

      I know, right? Plus, I haven’t been to Body Pump in like, 3 weeks….excited to see you tonight!

      • wickedhealthywashingtonian33 February 28, 2013 at 10:40 am #

        Yeahhhh… the RD told me to stop going to that class for now. Womp. But yes- tonight wahoo!

  2. Sarah C February 28, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    I’ve never heard of a “blogger meet-up” – but hope the class was fun! I’ve heard great things about Revolve (and it’s not far from my neighborhood) – their cycle/barre combo was part of a story one of my Piloxing classes was featured in on ABC last week, and I REALLY want to check it out!

  3. pickyrunner February 28, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    I want to have a blogger meet up with you guys! Ahh you look like you have so much fun! SOon? pleaseeee 😉
    Anyways, I like that you became a runner as a runner myself. I feel like I’m making new running friends all the time and it is awesome!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta February 28, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      I am going to say that calling myself “a runner” is a bit preemptive, but it is what I’ve been doing! I’m so inspired by your ability to crank out the miles. Any more than five and I’m toast! And yes, blogger meet-up soon please!!! Let me know next time you’re in DC (sorry to miss you last weekend!).

  4. Dawn Robinson (@dawnro1101) February 28, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    I don’t consider myself a runner but it’s funny has fast it can become a good habit and actually enjoy it (did I just type that?).

    I have a love secret affair with sweet potato fries!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DC Fit Blogger Meet-Up at Revolve | Magia e Pasta - March 4, 2013

    […] of this event from many DC-area bloggers. Remember when I told you last week that was going to be attending a meet-up with some fitness bloggers from the area? The wonderful people at Revolve DC were so kind and […]

  2. Signs of a Poser Blogger | Magia e Pasta - May 16, 2013

    […] hate running. Now this is something that is slowly evolving, but for the most part I am not a fan of running. I have no plans to sign up for a half marathon, a […]

Your turn to share!

