Yoga Mornings + [Overnight Oats Recipe]

26 Feb

Well, I did it! I finally made it to an early morning gym class – hooray! I told you guys yesterday that I was going to try my darndest to get my butt to yoga this morning and so I did everything I could to make sure it was successful. After work I went scurried straight over to the gym and hopped on the treadmill. I decided to run instead of take a class because I wanted to get in and out ASAP.

IMG_2098[1]Apparently just under 5 miles appears to be my sweet spot this week. I watched an episode of the Biggest Loser on my phone while I was running and it was kind of nice because it felt like I was working alongside the people on the show. Whenever Bob would yell, I would feel a surge of motivation and keep pressing on. Whatever works?

As soon as I got home I went to straight to the kitchen and set about preparing a big pot of lentil soup for the week. I figure if I could make lunches and dinners easier by having it in the fridge already, I would be more likely to wake up in the morning.

IMG_1985[1]While the soup was bubbling away, I made some dinner – a MorningStar Tomato Basil veggie burger and some roasted sweet potato fries.

IMG_2099[1]I am majorly into burgers right now. I had two over the weekend and one yesterday and the craving shows no sign of letting up. Unfortunately, I’m out until I  go grocery shopping at the end of the week so lentil soup will have to suffice. I think one of the reasons I like them so much is because you’re supposed to take big bites and really sink your teeth into them, which makes them feel very satisfying, in my opinion.

While I was in the kitchen, I took the liberty of preparing some overnight oats to have when I got to work, because you’re not supposed to eat before yoga.

Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 cup raw oats (not instant!)
  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 6 oz. Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp. chia seeds

Mix it all together and put it in the fridge overnight and you’ve got breakfast ready to go!

That’s usually my base for overnight oats and then I add whatever mix-ins to switch up the flavor – this morning was a tablespoon of honey and some cinnamon.

Pre-Yoga

I usually set my alarm for 6:30 AM during the week, so setting it for 6:15 this morning wasn’t a huge change. I set all my clothes out the night before (after contemplating just sleeping in them) so when my alarm went off I hopped out of bed to dress and brush my teeth and then I was out the door!

Thanks to the early morning, there was zero traffic and the bus made it downtown in just 15 minutes – perfect timing for my class that started at 7 AM. I convinced my roomie to join me this morning, but he decided to run and meet me there. I was not so ambitious.

As I was putting my stuff in my locker, I cut myself on the shaving razor I had stashed in my gym bag  and sliced my finger wide open. Sweet.

After a few attempts to staunch it, I went over to the front desk and grabbed some Band-Aids to make a pseudo-wrap to get me through class.

IMG_2102[1]Just call me Dr. Sara.

Yoga (finally!)

When I finally made it to class, it felt SO good to be in the warm relaxing room and I really concentrated on being in the moment. Sometimes I get caught up in my day and all the things I have to do so I really miss out on the hour of “me time” that I get during class.

The instructor is one of my favorites at the gym: she’s calm and knows how to instruct without being aggressive and knows the perfect balance of offering tips and modifications without being so talkative that she distracts from the practice. I let myself focus on my breath, especially when stretching out the areas where I keep a lot of my stress (hello, hips!). I don’t really realize how much sitting at a desk all day affects my body until I get into yoga and suddenly everything needs to open up.

By the time we got to savasana, I was calm and so peaceful – well, mostly. I did find my mind roaming a bit and tried to calm the thoughts that were beginning to infiltrate. It becomes more difficult for me to focus on calming the mind when I don’t have what I am doing with my body to focus on. This is why meditation is so hard for me.

savasana

 

[ source ]

I’m working on it.

The beauty of the morning class was that I still had an hour before needing to be at work, so I took my time getting ready without the feeling of needing to rush to be somewhere – it was lovely.

My gym offers morning yoga classes on Tuesday and Thursday morning and I am definitely committing to making those a priority in my life. They also have some on the weekends and in the evenings, so I am hoping to make it to a classes at least three times a week. Yoga does so much for me physically and mentally – I always seem to forget that until I go to a class. I am counting on you guys to hold me accountable!

I haven’t decided whether or not I will make it to the gym after work or if I should just walk the 2.5 miles home and call it a day. I guess we’ll find out!

Food For Thought: Do you practice a type of yoga? How has yoga been beneficial in your life?

Happy Tuesday, lovelies!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Yoga Mornings + [Overnight Oats Recipe]”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Sure When That Happened | Magia e Pasta - February 28, 2013

    […] I had plans to go to yoga this morning, I also prepped some overnight oats in advance for breakfast. This batch included sliced strawberries and shredded […]

  2. Tuesday Tidbits | Magia e Pasta - March 13, 2013

    […] to go to yoga at least twice a week. My yoga classes are Tuesday and Thursday mornings, so making a batch of overnight oats to grab out of the fridge and bring with me for breakfast after class. This particular batch is […]

Your turn to share!

