My First Zumba Party

22 Feb

Happy Friday!!! I’m currently holding a massive cup of tea to warm my frozen hands – the weather here in D.C. is no joke this week! It has actually been painful just being outside. Where are you spring?

Zumba with Vida

Last weekend, I got to participate in my very first Zumba dance party at U Street Music Hall. The event was sponsored by Vida Fitness and featured their uber talented Zumba instructors.

zumbavidaSince my only exposure to Zumba has been through classes at the gym, I had no idea what a full out dance party was going to hold. Luckily I had my gym buddy and workout partner Allison to help navigate the scene.

IMG_2051[1]The event took place at the U Street Music Hall. While the venue is known for hosting some awesome shows and famous performers, it’s actually very inconspicuous. Were it not for the iPhone, we definitely would have missed it. As we were walking towards the venue, a woman stopped and asked us how to get there as well, so we were not alone!

IMG_2049[1]There was a stage for the instructors and the rest of the room was set up for dancers, with a DJ in the back. They had designed a custom playlist just for the event and it featured lots of Latin music, with a side of hip hop. Since Allison and I felt like total noobs, we dropped our stuff off and creeped on the other people at the event -naturally. It was clear that many, if not most, of the attendees were regular Zumba-ers at Vida, an observation that was made apparent after the music started and a majority of the dancers knew the routines to all the dances.

Since I’ve attended Zumba regularly at my gym, I knew a lot of the steps, but it was hard to see the instructors (we were near the back) and I was definitely lost during some of the songs with more complex choreography. I have to hand it to the instructors: they had enough energy to power the room! There were almost ten instructors, so they would take turns coming down to the floor and dancing with us while the others danced on-stage. It was fun to see the different flavors each instructor brought to the dances.

Funny story, an Egyptian song came on that I totally knew all the words to! It was hilarious. The belly dance choreography was probably the only part I could execute with some grace.

There were a couple of brief intermissions (with an open bar, to boot!) but for the most part, it was an all-out dance party. Some people took it more seriously than others – I mostly focused on bopping around and making sure I got some movement in, even when I didn’t know the steps. The girl next to me knew every single song and totally put me to shame.

By the time I was ready to leave, the part was starting to wind down and become more casual – the instructors hopped off the stage and formed a big circle with all the dancers with people taking turns going in the middle. I was not about to publicize my lack of moves, but people were obviously having a good time.

My thoughts? I just loved the fact that people have been able to find a form of exercise that they love. I think it’s the best when exercise doesn’t feel like a chore and I think Zumba fits that description for a lot of people. Personally, if I’m going to dance then it’s going to be out with my friends or in my towel after getting out of the shower. I have a pretty good sense of rhythm and I love to get my dance on, but I start to lose interest when specific choreography is involved.

Could I see myself going to another Zumba party? Maybe. If they had a more interesting playlist. I would have preferred a little more variety in the music as all the songs kind of started sounding the same after awhile. A little Top 40 or old school pop would have been a nice surprise. I could totally see myself shaking my booty to a little Spice Girls.

Have you ever been to a Zumba party or other large group workout? What did you think?

I want to thank Vida Fitness for inviting me to their party. My entrance fee was complimentary, but I was not compensated for this post. All thoughts and opinions in this post are 100% mine.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “My First Zumba Party”

  1. pickyrunner February 22, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    This seems like so much fun! I would love to go to an event like that someday! I can never get enough zumba! I do usually stand front and center though which makes it easier to follow along…

  2. bezzymates February 22, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    That sounds great. I love Zumba. Some people are hard core and know the moves inside out.

Your turn to share!

