WOL Day 4 + A Valentine’s Day Surprise

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I’m so happy to have all you dear readers in my life, so I want to send you all a huge hug and all my love. 

fbstefFacebook wanted to make sure I was sending my love, too. Has anyone noticed the massive increase in ads on that site recently? It’s getting a little crazy.

IMG_2033[1]Last night I came home to a Valentine’s Day surprise of my own. Somebody had sent me flowers! I was very confused, because I figured if Stef were going to do it then he would just bring them himself and save himself the shipping/delivery costs. However, when I opened up the box, I was so happy to see that they were from my lovely mother and had a very sweet note attached. I just adore her!

IMG_2035[1]They are a perfect way to brighten up the room and all the beautiful colors remind me that spring is just around the corner. Thank you, Mommy!

As you might remember from earlier this week, Valentine’s Day is my very favorite holiday. People go on and on about how you should express your love to the people you care about all year round and not on some designated holiday, but guess what? We’re all human and sometimes life gets in the way and it’s nice to have a reminder that we should appreciate our loved ones a little more. Just call me Sara Hallmark.

SO. Today is the big day, which means there is most definitely a Week of Love Challenge ready for everybody. This one is focused on your significant other, if you have one. If not, no matter! Make this one all about you, because you’re worth it.

WOLThursStefano doesn’t have work tomorrow, so we can actually have a celebration tonight. We don’t usually make a huge deal out of Valentine’s day, seeing as it directly follows Christmas and our anniversary and precedes Stefano’s birthday in March. Usually we’re all gifted out, so we either go out to dinner or stay in and make a nice dinner ourselves. This year will be the latter and I’m looking forward to actually sitting down and having a nice leisurely meal over some good conversation.

This will be our sixth Valentine’s day together and I still remember our very first one. We had only been together for about a month and I remember being extremely nervous – we were still at that stage where any silences were awkward and we were kind of uncomfortable being alone. Stef picked me up from my house and we drove downtown to a fabulous pizzeria (which has since closed). He was so excited to introduce me to “real Italian pizza”. Some of you may know this, but Stefano is half-Italian and has much of his extended family still living in Italy, making him a self-proclaimed pizza expert.

This was my first taste of thin-crusted, Italian pizza and also probably sparked my interest in all things Italian. The dinner itself was enjoyable, but the most memorable part of the evening was getting lost on our way back home. At one point, we were trying to get directions from his dad and he drove down a one-way street in the opposite direction. After nearly driving into an oncoming car and a brief panic attack, we laughed about it the whole way home. It was at that moment I realized that talking to him was as easy as breathing and I had no reason to feel self-conscious or uncomfortable. Since then, silence in conversation is a rare occurrence between the two of us, but when it happens it is comforting rather than awkward.

Even before 2007, Valentine’s Day has always been my favorite. I think it started in elementary school when the day was all about making cards and sharing candy with my classmates. The good valentines were the ones with fun sized candy bars, we always threw away the cards that were just writing – no sweets included. It was so much fun to decorate my valentine “mailbox” and hunt through the fun cartoon cards I would receive. My favorites were the Disney princess-themed cards because I was all about Jasmine.

aladdinvalentine

I don’t remember ever feeling left out of the day because I didn’t have a boyfriend, because I never really considered the holiday a romantic one. My friends and I shared valentines and ate candy and sent each other flower-grams in high school, so it was all about celebrating love between friends and family.

If you don’t want to celebrate and hate the holiday in general, you could always take a page out of Jessica Biel’s book and throw an anti-Valentine’s Day party.

ihatevday

I saw let’s spread the love and embrace the fact that it’s perfectly acceptable to eat candy for breakfast. Also, consider it a pre-celebration of how cheap chocolate will be tomorrow. Which is fine because chocolate is good for you, right?

Have a wonderful day, lots of love to you all!

Food for Thought: What are your thoughts on the big V-Day? Love it, hate it, or couldn’t care less?

5 Responses to “WOL Day 4 + A Valentine’s Day Surprise”

  1. theadventuresofzandk February 14, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    Sure it’s become a commercial holiday, but any day that encourages people to spread love and spend time with those you’re closest with is fine in my book!

  2. pickyrunner February 14, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    My roommate just got flowers from her parents too! I agree that even though it’s a commercial holiday, it’s still a great reminder to feel that love from family and friends. Plus, it’s an excuse to eat chocolate, right? 😉

  3. bezzymates February 14, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    Very true Sara. Valentine’s Day simply serves as a reminder to love and appreciate your nearest and dearest.

Your turn to share!

