WOL Challenge Day 2 + [Recipe]

12 Feb

Good morning loves! How did day one of the Week of Love Challenge turn out for you? I got some wonderful feedback from people about how it was helpful for them and it put a big ol’ smile on my face. I won’t deny that my eyes started to tear up when reading Allison’s blog this morning. If this week helps even one person, then I feel like it is a huge success.

You ready for day 2? Today is about honoring the female presence in your life. Being constantly bombarded with celebrities, models, and other female examples in the media, it is difficult to focus on the women who matter; the women in your life who cheer you on, build you up, and catch you when you fall.

girl

via Pinterest

This could be your mother, your sister, your aunt, your cousin, your best friend. Is there a woman who helps you be the best you? Let her know! It could be something as simple as a phone call, email, or text message. If you’re feeling ambitious, you could get crafty and create a care package for them to remind them how much they inspire you to be better.

WeekOfLoveTueI am fortunate to have so many strong, wonderful women in my life. My mother, grandma, and aunt are such strong role models and my close girlfriends are forces to be reckoned with! I know that life gets busy and they don’t get upset if they don’t hear from me in awhile, but life is short and if you love somebody, don’t hesitate to tell them – not even for a moment. No matter how small, I am sure that they well appreciate any sweet gesture you make.

Speaking of sweet…I promised you all that I would have a recipe for you and I do! This is for basbousa, which is a Mediterranean dessert. I know it to be Egyptian, but I know that Turks and Greeks and even other Arabs have different names for the same thing. It has already appeared on the blog, but I didn’t include a recipe the previous time. After making it twice and having positive feedback both times, I figured it was time to share the recipe. A lot of my American friends say it reminds them of a honey-drenched corn bread.

IMG_2031[1]

Basbousa

Serves 12

For the cake

  • 2 cups fine semolina
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup milk
  • Almonds for decoration (optional)

For the syrup:

  • 1.5 cups granulated sugar
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice (or orange blossom water, if you have it on hand)
  • 2 tbsp honey
  1. Preheat the oven to 345 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl mix all the dry ingredients.  Add in the melted butter and milk and stir until well combined.
  3. Put in this mixture into a buttered, shallow medium sized oven proof dish.
  4. Bake golden brown on the top and edges, about 40 minutes.
  5. While the cake is baking, prepare the syrup by dissolving the sugar a saucepan with hot water.
  6. Increase the heat to medium and then bring the mixture to a vigorous boil and cook until it coats the back of a spoon like a syrup.
  7. Stir in the lemon juice or orange blossom water and allow to cool.
  8. As it’s cooling, mix in the hone.y
  9. Allow the cake to cool for about 10 minutes and then cut it into squares or diamonds (I can never figure out the diamond shape). Carefully pour the syrup over the cake. It looks like a lot of syrup, but the cake will absorb all the syrup, leaving it nice and moist. This might take a couple of hours (I usually leave it overnight). Optional: Add one almond to each slice for decoration.

IMG_2030[1]Have a wonderful Tuesday, beautiful people! Don’t forget to share what you’re doing for the week of love challenge – share the love!

3 Responses to “WOL Challenge Day 2 + [Recipe]”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 February 12, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    D’awww- love you girlfriend. Thank you for being one of the strong women in my life that supports me on the reg 🙂

  2. pickyrunner February 12, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    I love that “girlafesto” pin. It’s such a motivator, in a healthy way, which is really important these days and so difficult to find.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Inside My Snack Drawer + WOL Day 3 « Magia e Pasta - February 13, 2013

    […] teachers, coaches, and other male role models that play such an important part in our lives. Like yesterday’s challenge, this could mean anything from sending them a heartfelt email or posting a sticky note on the […]

Your turn to share!

