Week of Love Challenge

11 Feb

Happy Monday! I had a wonderful weekend – the sun was out and it was beautiful in Washington (hope all of you in the Northeast are safe and have your power!).

I got a little workout in…

IMG_2022[1]Ate some tasty food while indulging in some reading material…

IMG_2024[1]Do you love Zooey Deschanel as much as I do? I think she’s just fabulous.

I also got into the kitchen and did some baking – recipe to come tomorrow! Let’s just say it’s sweet, delicious, and not at ALL good for you.

I’m really looking forward to this week because Valentine’s Day is my favorite holiday. Scoff all you want, but what is better than a holiday that reminds you to love your friends, family, and/or significant other? I think we could all use a reminder now and then, even it is triggered by a Hallmark holiday.

vdayStef doesn’t have work on Friday, so we’re going to make ourselves a really nice dinner on Thursday night. I prefer cooking with him than going out on a day when restaurants are totally packed with couples and everything feel very rushed. I’m also planning on getting crafty and making some Valentine’s day goody bags for my roommates – gotta share the love.

Since we’re in the week of love, I decided that this week’s motivation should be about loving your body, since the most important person to love is yourself. Before you can have a meaningful relationship with anybody else, you have to first have a good relationship with yourself.
images

A lot of these photos were taken from NOW’s Love Your Body Campaign, which occurs every year.

2008_soulbody cat3-card cat3-2012-card

A different way to look at priorities:
blackposter-love-your-body-day

BodyHeart is another great group that helps promote healthy body image through one-on-one coaching and group coaching. Here’s an interview with the founder, Amber Krzys, who talks about loving your body and yourself all the time.

So, in honor of Valentine’s Day and in honor of loving yourself and your body, I’m challenging my dear readers to take this week as an opportunity to express love for your family, your significant other, your friends, your co-workers, your neighbors – whomever! But, as always, loving yourself is first. We are going to start off the week with this challenge:

WeekofLoveMonI find that mirrors are the most prime opportunity for people to feel bad about themselves. They take the time to pick out things they don’t like, features they wish they could change. This time, we’re turning the tables. Every time you see your reflection today, I want you to remind yourself of the traits you like about yourself. They don’t have to be physical features, though they definitely can be! I want to see how you feel by the end of the day.

Please share with friends and family, so they can spread the love as well. As always, you know how to reach me 🙂

Have a wonderful start to the week of love!

8 Responses to “Week of Love Challenge”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 February 11, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    Absolutely LOVE the week of love challenge. I need these little reminders constantly to take the time to appreciate me so thank you. Motivational Monday indeed 🙂

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta February 11, 2013 at 9:55 am #

      Thanks, girl. I know everyone needs a little self love sometimes, so why not take the week we’re supposed to love everybody else and love ourselves, too? Glad you like it ❤

  2. pickyrunner February 11, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    I absolutely love this challenge. I really need to participate in it. The comparison of what you could have instead of doing something like uncomfortable shoes is such a great reminder.
    Also, don’t tempt me with deliciously unhealthy recipes! You’re killing me with the anticipation 😉

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta February 11, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      Please participate! Would love to hear your thoughts at the end of the day 🙂

  3. theadventuresofzandk February 11, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    It’s so easy to get wrapped up in being overly self critical. What a great reminder to focus on the things you LOVE instead of things you want to change.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bikram Yoga and Meatless Monday | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian - February 12, 2013

    […] also briefly thought of the “Week of Love Challenge” that my friend Sara posed for this week while in class. She summarized this week of love (so […]

  2. WOL Day 4 + A Valentine’s Day Surprise « Magia e Pasta - February 14, 2013

    […] you might remember from earlier this week, Valentine’s Day is my very favorite holiday. People go on and on about how you should […]

  3. Food Coloring & Market Shopping « My Road Less Traveled - February 19, 2013

    […] like one of my best friends at Magia e Pasta Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays – I’m just a little late on […]

Your turn to share!

