Follow Friday #3: Lessons

8 Feb

You guys. THIS lunch.

IMG_2010[1]

This lunch was the best decision I have made in a long time. Sliced grape tomatoes and Persian cucumbers, with two huge chunks of burrata. Topped off with a drizzle of EVOO and S+P and it just blew me away. This reminds me that simple foods can be amazing. You know how I feel about burrata, so it was guaranteed to be a success off the bat but wow. I liked it so much, I made it for lunch again today 🙂 I picked up the burrata from Trader Joe’s and while it’s a little pricey, it comes with two big balls of fresh burrata cheese.

Yesterday was another spin class and our instructor told us that we were going to be preemptively working off Friday night and Saturday brunch – gulp. Let’s just say there were hills. Lots of hills. For someone with crappy knees, it was pretty painful, but it got my blood pumping and the playlist was rockin’.

On my walk home, I saw this on the ground:

IMG_2015[1]

Accompanied by this:

IMG_2016[1]

Way to keep it classy, D.C.

There was nothing on my agenda for the evening except my date with Schmidt, Winston, Nick, and Jess on the latest episode of New Girl. My dinner came together really quickly, thanks to some 3-minute rice from Trader Joe’s, a thawed salmon fillet, and a quick sautee of some fresh green beans.

IMG_2017[1]

I’m really digging this rice medley from TJ’s; it’s pre-cooked, so all you need to do is pop it in the microwave for a few minutes and it tastes great. The only seasoning I’ve been using for my salmon is this salt-free Grilling Blend from Mrs. Dash. I few shakes on the top of the fillet and it gives it a ridiculously impeccable flavor, given how minimal the effort is.

Okay, so today is Friday and I want to bring back my follow Friday posts. After deciding to do this segment of my blog, I gave it a one or two tries and eventually left it by the wayside, which is a shame because I love the idea. Basically, what I’m trying to do is use Fridays as a day to talk about things I’ve picked up from other blogs throughout the week, whether it be a recipe that was inspired by a fellow blogger or a topic of interest that was first suggested by somebody else. I read a ton of great blogs and this is a great way to introduce you all to some of the great writing that is out in the blogosphere!

Today’s Follow Friday is featuring Tina from Best Body Fitness. The particular post I wanted to chat about was one she wrote last Thursday, called Life Right NowIn her post, she talked about a feeling that she gets where the world (or God) is trying to tell her something. In her words,

“Do you ever feel like the world (or, in my opinion, God) is just speaking to you? You can’t seem to escape a particular message no matter which way you turn? Everything points to one direction and no matter how you fight it or think otherwise, you eventually recognize that you have to follow? That it’s the only way?”

For her, the message was to slow down and prioritize a life that was overflowing her plate. She didn’t feel good about half committing to something or someone and wanted to be able to be fully present in what she was doing. What she said after that struck me,

This is a lesson I seem to have to learn numerous times. We all have them, don’t we? I tried to avoid the messages but they kept coming louder and clearer.”

Everyone does have one of these and her idea reminded me of one of my favorite philosophies about life.

hereisyourassignmentI have this printed out and hung up on my wall at work and at home. I read this often, especially #4, which says: “A lesson is repeated until it is learned. A lesson will be presented to you in various forms until you have learned it, then you can go on to the next lesson.” Yes.

Have you noticed this happen in your life? Is there ever an instance where you feel you have successfully avoided an obstacle, only to have it manifest itself in a different form?

For me, this all goes back to my controlling tendencies. I’ve talked about my need to let go of control and expressed how difficult it is for me because it’s a defense mechanism. I know that this is my lesson to learn because I have seen it come up in so many areas of my life. For years I have made or ended relationships based on my ability to control them. If I felt like I was in a place where my relationship with another person is out of control, I would simply avoid it. Sometimes I do it very literally, by putting as much physical distance between myself and the person as possible.

No matter. When you think you have avoided something instead of facing it dead on, it will reappear in a different form. In my case, my struggle with controlling my environment reappears involving people with whom I cannot (or will not) end my relationship, like a family member or serious relationship.

A lesson is repeated until it is learned.

The hard part about knowing this is facing the eventuality that I have to confront my fears head-on. I can kick the can down the road, but I can’t grow as a person until I learn my lesson. It may take years, it may take a lifetime. And after that?

#5: “Learning Lessons Does Not End. There is No part of life that does not contain its lessons. If you are alive, there are lessons to be learned.”

Oof. That sounds pretty daunting, doesn’t it? Wouldn’t it be easier to go on about our merry lives in blissful ignorance? Yes, but that’s not what makes humans such a fascinating and complex species. It is these lessons that shape us, give meaning to our existence. The amazing part is that each person is different. In a world of over seven billion people, each person has their own unique lesson plan in life. That’s pretty incredible.

The thought of continuing these lessons is scary. There will be pain and suffering and anger and sadness. But there will also be joy and satisfaction and love.

joypain

[ annvoskam.comp via Pinterest]

So that is my Friday contemplation for you all to sit on. If you get a chance, maybe think about what your lesson is supposed to be right now.

Food For Thought: Do you know what your lesson is? Have you seen it presented in different parts of your life? 

Wishing everybody a wonderful end of the week and a relaxing, beautiful weekend!

3 Responses to “Follow Friday #3: Lessons”

  1. Aunt Rebecca February 10, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Sweet… I had this as a poster in my life for many years…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Follow Friday #4: The Myth of Doing It All | Magia e Pasta - March 1, 2013

    […] FF #3: Tina from Best Body Fitness […]

  2. Burrata Caprese and Why Spooning is Better | Magia e Pasta - April 22, 2013

    […] readers of my blog will be very aware of my publicly declared love for burrata. So you can imagine my excitement when Stefano and I found a big […]

Your turn to share!

