Apple Cinnamon Bread [Recipe]

7 Feb

Say hello to my new, beautiful computer monitor.

IMG_1994[1]I originally received this after my old monitor at work started having weird glitch-y things happen to it. It wasn’t until yesterday afternoon that I was able to get it set up. Aside from being a massive upgrade size-wise (it’s got to be at least six inches wider than my old one), the screen is bright and clear and beautiful. It made the second half of my work day so much better – amazing what little magia moments can do.

After work, it was time for Body Pump, which has lately been called “Whatever Our Instructor Wants Wednesdays”. Instead of the usual Body Pump routine (warm-up, squats, chest, back, triceps, biceps, lunges, shoulders, abs, cool-down), he switched it up by incorporating lots of planks, push-ups, and reverse crunches. While I can appreciate wanting to take the monotony out of a class, I want my Body Pump, darn it! I felt pretty unenthusiastic the whole time and was happy to be done.

IMG_1989[1]I finished my last bowl of lentil soup at dinner…sad days! I haven’t been posting my meals recently because it has consisted of lentil soup for lunch and dinner and a yogurt bowl for breakfast.

IMG_1990[1]Inside the bowl:

  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup honey Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup raw oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced strawberries

Delicious? Yes. Repetitive? Absolutely.

We have a double birthday at work today, so last night I raided my pantry and fridge to figure out something to make and came up with this easy and super delicious apple cinnamon quick bread.

IMG_1998[1]It takes an hour to make, tops, and most of that time is spent in the oven. The cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice made the kitchen smell absolutely heavenly and I couldn’t wait for it to cool down so I could have a slice! I’m glad this is going to be at work because it would be gone in a matter of minutes if left at my house.

Apple Cinnamon Bread

1 loaf

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (optional)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped apples

For crispy topping:

  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

I always start quick breads the same way, using the first 9 ingredients on the list. Then I change it up using spices and different mix-ins. In this case, I added cinnamon and apples, but I also added some pumpkin pie spice because I had some leftover pumpkin frosting I wanted to use as a glaze. You could easily omit that and it would be wonderful.

IMG_1997[1]

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In one bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and salt.
  3. In another bowl, beat eggs for 30 seconds, then add vanilla, white sugar, and brown sugar to the bowl. Stir until well combined and then add Greek yogurt, mixing until smooth.
  4. Add flour mixture to wet ingredients mixing until just combined. Fold apples into batter until evenly distributed.
  5. In a small bowl, mix sugar and cinnamon topping mixture until well combined.
  6. Pour batter into a greased, 9″ by 5″ loaf pan and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar topping.
  7. Bake bread ~45 minutes or until forking/toothpick/poking device comes out clean.

I have completely jumped on the Greek yogurt instead of vegetable oil bandwagon. I have substituted plain Greek yogurt for oil and butter and it always comes out tasting fabulous. Plus side? It saves so many calories. In this particular recipe, using half a cup of vegetable oil came out to 964 calories. Instead, I used plain Greek yogurt (0% fat, Trader Joe’s) and it was a total of 60, yes SIXTY calories. WHAT?! That one substitution eliminated almost 1,000 extra calories from this recipe. Mind blown. Some people say that plain makes it taste a little tangy. Personally, I can’t tell, but if you use honey or vanilla Greek yogurt, that should mask any tanginess, and the added calories still won’t compare to using vegetable oil or butter. I always just do a 1:1 ratio and haven’t had any problems, thus far.

The total calorie count for the whole loaf was 1742 calories (can you imagine tacking on another 900 in oil?), which made each serving 145 calories (if you divide it into 12 slices). I don’t calorie count, but if you do, this is a nice little treat.  It’s kind of fun to plug the recipes into MyFitnessPal, just to see. I learned that cinnamon has a whopping six calories per teaspoon.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve got for you today. I’m off to spin this evening and then I’m going to do more research on Polar watches. Impulse shopper is something I will never be.

Wishing you all a magical Thursday. Much love!

2 Responses to “Apple Cinnamon Bread [Recipe]”

  1. Dawn H. April 23, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    I know this is an old post, but i had to comment – LoL on the BodyPump instructor. I would have been SO annoyed if I had been in that class; I’m there for the routine and the weights!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta April 23, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      No worries, thanks for stopping by, Dawn! Yeah – I just like knowing what I’m getting into when I go into a class! I am a woman of routine.

Your turn to share!

