Get Your Spin On

6 Feb

Last night I went to spin class for the first time in a long, long time. Since my first spin class in November, I have only been in a handful of times. The lingering pain in my backside might have something to do with it. Fun surprise? Allison was there!

IMG_1993[1]

When the instructor arrived, he announced that our class that evening would be dedicated to the winner of the Super Bowl, Beyonce. You guys know how I feel about her, so I was pretty jazzed to get my pedals moving to some Queen B. In actuality, there were only a couple of Beyonce songs thrown in the mix and I would have loved a class that was all B/Destiny’s Child (was the only one who loved seeing all three of them together at the Super Bowl?). My gym has a suggestion box in the entry area and I might suggest that our spinning class starting having tribute nights.

After a seriously sweaty spin sesh (alliteration heaven!!!), I couldn’t wait to get home and guzzle more water along with dinner. I have been all about the roasted veggies lately, so I cooked up some brussels sprouts with a little balsamic vinegar and had that alongside a bowl of lentil soup. It’s safe to say that I will be eating this soup every meal of the day until I run out.

IMG_1984[1]There are so many different kinds of vegetables to roast (and ways to flavor them), I don’t see how anybody could get bored.

IMG_1986[1]After a quick dinner, I spent the rest of the evening over my laptop, trying to figure out my taxes, and realized why people have accountants.

math-taxes-accountants-hr-block-ecards-someecardsIt looks like my refund might be enough to cover one of my major wish list items: a fancy heart rate monitor.

I had a brief Twitter conversation with some fellow HLBs (healthy living bloggers) yesterday, which renewed my interest in researching heart rate monitors.

twitterI feel as if the heart rate monitors on the cardio devices I use at the gym are way off base and I’d like to get a better idea of what my target heart rate range is and which exercise are giving me the most bang for my buck. I know a lot of people are big on the Polar brand, but I am a horribly indecisive shopper and need to do extensive amounts of research before I buy just about anything.

Food For Thought: Do you own a heart rate monitor or any other cool fitness gadgets that you love? Spill the beans!

5 Responses to “Get Your Spin On”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 February 6, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    Ahhhh I’m all over your blog post today- I love it! 🙂

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta February 6, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      You ARE! Such a nice surprise to see you. One day we will see each other in real people clothes.

      • wickedhealthywashingtonian33 February 6, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

        Maybe… just maybe!

  2. pickyrunner February 6, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Haha I’m lucky my dad does my taxes for me 🙂 Hopefully I never have to learn! Kidding, they’ll make me eventually. But that’s so cool that you ran into another blogger at spin! I hope that happens to me someday in a random place. Going to check out her page now 🙂

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta February 6, 2013 at 11:50 am #

      Oh man, you are lucky. My taxes aren’t even complicated, but thinking about it gives me a headache. Meeting blog friends in real life is so fun, it makes me want to organize a big meet-up. You will love Allison’s page, she is wonderful 🙂

Your turn to share!

