Things I’ve Learned Since Starting a Blog

1 Feb

Happy, happy Friday! I know I am so ready for this weekend, how about you? The temperature in DC has dropped 40 degrees in the past two days, I’m still struggling to understand this city and its weird weather.

I guess I should also wish you a very happy February! Can’t believe January already flew by and how fast February will go, too. Although January was wonderful (celebrating my 6th anniversary with Stefano, my mommy’s birthday), February will be fabulous because of Valentine’s Day. Valentine’s Day is my favorite holiday and everybody can roll their eyes all they want, but I can’t think of a better holiday than one that’s focused on love. And when I say love, I mean love for family, friends, and significant others. Hallmark holiday or not, I think it’s great to have a little holiday to remind us to love one another.

going-romantically-spontaneous-valentines-day-ecard-someecards

As it is the first day of the month, I am going to be participating in Katy Widrick’s 28 Day Blog Challenge for the month of February. Marking the first day, I took the leap and bought my own domain name, so Magia e Pasta is officially magiaepasta.com! The idea is to spend the month of February working on improving your blog, whether it is something small, like updating your ‘About Me’ or doing a full website makeover.

Since I have been blogging on a (near) daily basis for over six months now, I feel like I want to commit to investing in the blog a little more. My goals for the blog have been all over the place, because I didn’t really know what I wanted it to become when I first started.

At the beginning, the was simply a way to mark my transition to a new city and new stage of my life post-college, but I have learned so many things about blogging (and about myself) along with way.

Things I’ve Learned Since Starting a Blog

  • I love to write. I knew this going into it, but writing is one of my very favorite things to do. If somebody could pay me to read books and write all day long, I would be in heaven.
  • HTML. I had a very (VERY) basic knowledge of it, but since starting to blog, I have learned so much about HTML code and it has really motivated me to want to take a class to get better.
  • There is a widespread healthy living community. The healthy living community is so much bigger than I could have imagined. I started out reading only a handful of related blogs and now my Google Reader is growing every day with blogs I love and learn from.
  • I have varied and changing interests. I originally meant for this blog to be about health and fitness and yes, while that is the main focus, I know that there’s so much more I can and want to talk about. Some of you may have noticed the ‘Where I Go’ tab on my website and that is something I really want to work on this month. Travel is a huge part of my life and something that I feel I can talk to others about. Having lived and traveled abroad since before I could walk, I know that I can help others get out there and explore the world.
  • Comparison leads to disaster. It’s difficult not to compare yourself to people in your life and that doesn’t change for the online community. There are several bloggers who constantly astound me with how successful they are, how in shape they are, etc. and while I know that we are all different people leading different lives, I constantly have to remind myself that I need to focus on my life and not get wrapped up in what others are doing.
  • Slow and steady wins the race. My whole life, I have expected to excel at whatever I try from the get-go. If I didn’t succeed immediately, I would quit (examples: basketball and acoustic guitar). When I first started the blog, the only people who read it were my mom, aunt, and grandma. Even though my readership isn’t sky-high, I know that there are people who read it that aren’t related to me! I didn’t really go into it with the intention of increasing my readership dramatically, but as time passes and I become more involved in social media, more people are tuning in.
  • The Internet is an amazing thing. I am part of the last generation to grow up without active use of the internet and am of the belief that recognizing the sound of dial-up is a distinct generational marker.

This weekend I am going to try my darndest to make it to yoga again. Maybe I’ll watch the Superbowl, though I really don’t have a dog in the fight (what a terrible expression). If nothing else, I will get to watch Beyonce sing it up (for real, this time?). It sort of made me sad that she had a pre-recorded track during the inauguration, but then this happened:

Thanks, Queen B.

Sending you all major love for the weekend, go 49-ers Ravens Beyonce!

One Response to “Things I’ve Learned Since Starting a Blog”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get Your Spin On « Magia e Pasta - February 6, 2013

    […] announced that our class that evening would be dedicated to the winner of the Super Bowl, Beyonce. You guys know how I feel about her, so I was pretty jazzed to get my pedals moving to some Queen B. In actuality, there were only a […]

Your turn to share!

