Quickie Lunch Workout

30 Jan

Supposedly, we’re in the middle of winter over here, not that you’d be able to tell…

IMG_1972[1]Makes zero sense. I don’t even know how to dress myself when I go outside! I won’t complain though, it’s nice to not have to brace yourself when you walk out the door.

My friend Lucy arrived in the city yesterday and I picked her up from Union Station after work. She’s only in town for a couple of days, so I’ve planned on doing my workouts on my lunch break so I am free after work.

Workout

Yesterday’s workout was quick, but intense. I was totally covered in sweat by the end, plus I didn’t have to rush to get back to work because it left me with enough time to clean myself up. Double win.

Quickie Lunch WorkoutI did my warm up and cool down on the treadmill at an easy 12 min/mile pace. All in all, it took me just a little over half an hour to complete the workout, from the moment I stepped on the treadmill for the warm up, to when I stepped off at the end of my cool down.

IMG_1971[1]If you are using any of my workouts, I highly recommend that you download the GymBoss app (it’s free) for your phone, or invest in some kind of interval timer (GymBoss has them on their website for ~$20).

While looking over the workout, if some of the activities look unfamiliar to you, you can find demonstrations of them on YouTube quite easily. I have linked some of the exercises below:

Eats

Lately I’ve found myself falling off the clean-eating wagon over the weekends. My meals on those days consists mainly of carbs and fat -I ate two cheese quesadillas for dinner the other night – and it leaves me feeling like I have to play catch-up during the week. One of my goals for this weekend is to stick to my 80-20 plan so I don’t feel ‘blah’ on Monday morning. The weekends need to have less of this:

The 'S' was for Sharks, as in the NHL team.

The ‘S’ was for Sharks, as in the NHL team.

And more of this:

IMG_1967[1]

Monday night’s dinner: salmon fillet on a bed of mixed rice, side of sauteed stir-fry vegetables.

and this:

IMG_1973[1]

Yesterday’s lunch + pre-workout snack: Leftover rice and vegetables, sweet potato medallions with cinnamon, tangerine, green grapes, and trail mix.

Tonight, Lucy and I are meeting some old high school friends for dinner and then more girl-talk at home. Having a guest in the middle of the week is such a nice way to pick things up!

Food for Thought: Do you tend to eat differently over the weekend and during the week? What is your biggest obstacle to eating healthy food?

4 Responses to “Quickie Lunch Workout”

  1. yourothermotherhere January 30, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    You know the healthier eating just LOOKS so much more appetizing, doesn’t it?

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta January 30, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      It totally does – makes your body feel better, too!

      • yourothermotherhere January 30, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

        Yep, you are right.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian - January 31, 2013

    […] worked my way through a short routine from my friend Sara (which she dubbed a “Quickie Lunch Workout“) and called it a day. I replaced her chest presses though with russian twists. Thanks for […]

Your turn to share!

