Georgetowning

28 Jan

Hello, lovelies! For some reason unbeknownst to me, the federal government was closed until noon today (they say it was due to inclement weather, but the only thing I saw this morning was rain). Since my office follows the federal calendar, I didn’t have to be in until noon, either. That meant a nice leisurely morning, as well as a workout and shower! Though working out in the morning means I will miss my beloved Body Pump, it will be nice to go home and curl up on the couch or do some yoga.

Stef and I spent the weekend exploring Georgetown with our friends Eric and Sam (Eric is actually Stef’s cousin, too). We started Saturday morning with an ice skating session at the Georgetown Rink by the Washington Harbour. Though the weather was chilly, the sun was out and they were playing Oldies over the loudspeaker – my favorite.

IMG_1959[1]Those adorable penguins were confiscated from us shortly after the picture was taken. Apparently, only kids are allowed to have fun. Booooo.

After a little skating, we headed over to Clyde’s for a delicious brunch. I didn’t know anything about the restaurant before going, but it is a saloon-style restaurant, with various locations around the DMV area. Fun fact: Starland Vocal Band’s  1976 hit single “Afternoon Delight” was inspired by the appetizer menu of the same name at Clyde’s.

The menu had several choices that appealed to me and I had a supremely difficult time deciding. In the end, I went with a three-egg omelette, filled with all sorts of good stuff like tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, onions, ham, spinach, and cheddar cheese. I ordered it without the bacon and ham, but was looking forward to the side of brunch potatoes.

IMG_1955[1]Stef ordered the Denver burrito, which was a Tex-Mex style egg burrito with scrambled eggs, black beans and jack cheese rolled in a flour tortilla topped with pork green chili and sour cream.

IMG_1956[1]I could have ordered an entree of breakfast potatoes alone – yum!

Before our entrees, we started with some deviled eggs, which were filled with lump crab meat and chives. Deviled eggs are one of my favorite party foods, but I never think to make them myself. Home kitchen adventure in the making!

IMG_1954[1]We went straight from brunch to the movie theater to catch a 1:15 showing of Silver Lining’s Playbook. I had heard so many good things about the film (plus I love Jennifer Lawrence) and I wasn’t disappointed. Some parts of it caused me to get really emotional, but the acting was wonderful and it had a great ending.

The film is up for eight Oscars and it’s the first time in over 30 years that a film has Oscar nominations in all four acting categories!

This week is more exciting than usual (because my weeks are so exciting to begin with) because one of my oldest friends is coming to visit! Lucy has an interview for medical school in New York and is taking the bus down to DC to visit for a couple of days. I can’t wait!!! She and I have been friends since we were 10 years old – I love her.

lucysara

Circa 2006

We’re the cutest.

Hope you all have a wonderful start to your week – catch ya soon!

 

Your turn to share!

