A Real Winter Wonderland

24 Jan

Looks like Mother Nature finally decided to put her money where her mouth is and gifted us with the white stuff this morning. Because I keep my window shades down at night, it didn’t even occur to me to look outside until I received a text from Stefano, saying his school had been delayed.

IMG_1933[1]

At first, I didn’t understand why his school would just be delayed and then I looked outside.

IMG_1931[1]Unfortunately for me, I still had to go to work. Upside: the weather is a toasty 19 degrees, up three from yesterday. Baby steps.

I think I’m getting better at this staying warm thing. The key is to leave no skin unexposed, which leaves me looking a bit like a babushka, but whatever it takes, right?

IMG_1932[1]I still pick winter as the season to get voted off the island.

Workout

Body Pump was killer last night! Not so much because of the difficulty of the tracks, but because the room was heated to a bajillion degrees. By the time we got to planks during our abs session, I was feeling a little nauseous and dizzy. Despite chugging water like a madwoman, my throat felt really dry during the whole class. Too cold outside, too hot inside – moderation, people!

I haven’t decided what I’m going to do tonight. I am thinking about going home and doing a workout there, but it seems that every time I try, the couch and Netflix ends up sucking me in. I have a new three-month exercise plan that I am planning on unveiling next week! It’s going to run from February until May and I’m really looking forward to switching things up.

Eats

My more recent blog posts have not given much insight into what I’ve been eating, but it’s mainly because I have been enjoying the same meals for a long time and one can only post so many pictures of eggs or yogurt before they all start to blend together. One thing I have been a fan of is a bowl of yogurt (3 scoops plain, 1 scoop honey) with a sprinkle of oats and chia seeds, alongside a big sweet potato.

IMG_1926[1]The combination of healthy carbs from the sweet potato and protein from the yogurt keep me nice and full until lunch. Fun fact: although the nutrition facts are very similar, sweet potatoes have a lower glycemic index than regular potatoes (i.e. Russet potatoes). The glycemic index is a measure of how quickly blood glucose levels rise after eating, so foods that have a low glycemic index do not cause a quick spike in blood sugar. As a result, people don’t experience the same roller coaster of sugar highs and lows and low-glycemic foods keep you feeling full longer.

IMG_1925[1]

Since deciding to mix up my salads, I have really been enjoying all the different combinations I can come up with. In the salad up top, there’s a mixture of baby spinach, cannellini beans, dill pickles, Persian cucumber, grape tomatoes, marinated artichoke hearts, and sun-dried tomatoes. Yum! I also had some roasted butternut squash (chopped, baked in oven at 425 for an hour) that I had sprinkled with the seven-spice I purchased from Hashems. The seven spice is a combination of ground black pepper, allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg, paprika, coriander, and cumin.

I usually save the apple and trail mix for later in the afternoon so I’ve got some energy for my workout in the evening. So far, I think I’ve found a pretty good combination of macronutrients to keep me feeling satisfied during the day.

Articles of Interest

I’m not sure what it is, but this week has been chock full of articles on health and wellness that I have been enjoying. Here are a few that people might find interesting and informative:

  • 13 Reasons to Start Bodyweight Training: This is an excellent article that gives an overview of why bodyweight training is so effective and how different types of training can be done.
  • Is It Too Cold to Exercise?: The Washingtonian breaks down the weather and how to protect yourself from the elements if you choose to exercise outside.
  • Interview with Emmy Rossum in SELF: I have liked Emmy Rossum as an actress since back in her Phantom of the Opera days, but I like her even more because of this down-to-earth interview she gives SELF about her fitness regimen. I hate it when actresses say that they eat junk food and don’t work out much and it is refreshing to hear about somebody who admits that she works hard for the body she has (Gwyneth Paltrow is another one).

Okay folks, that’s all for me on this end. Please share your thoughts on any of the articles I’ve mentioned, I love to hear your feedback, dear readers! Stay warm and have a wonderful Thursday ❤

Your turn to share!

