Jumped on the Two Ingredient Pancake Bandwagon

23 Jan

When I told you how cold it was yesterday, I don’t think I properly conveyed how miserable I was feeling.

IMG_1920[1]THIS IS NOT OKAY. Seriously, I am not in Boston and I’m not in Milwaukee, so don’t try to play off sub-freezing temperatures  over here in the mid-Atlantic and expect to get away with it, Mother Nature. I’m calling you out.

I received a cute shirt in the mail yesterday that I had ordered from Loft (60% off sale items? Yes, please!) but I know I’m not going to be able to wear it for months. However, I am eagerly anticipating the $11 black corduroy pants I ordered, though! Very winter friendly. Best part is it didn’t cost me a dime, thanks to a gift card from my dear aunt for my birthday a few months back. Thanks, Aunt Rebecca!

IMG_1921[1]

I am the worst at handling extreme chill. And by extreme chill, I mean anything below 70-ish degrees. You know that line in ‘When Harry Met Sally’ when Billy Crystal says to Meg Ryan, “I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out”? That’s me. I am pretty sure Stefano considers it more of a liability than a charming quirk. Before inauguration, he did a full once-over of my outfit before he deemed it appropriate to keep me warm.

Luckily, my girl Colleen is on the same page, so I know I’m not alone.

Since the weather outside is truly frightful, a warm breakfast was a necessity to a) warm my belly and b) give me an excuse to stand next to the lit stove.

The two ingredient pancakes craze happened sometime last year, but I didn’t pursue it because it has bananas and I really don’t care for bananas. Nevertheless, curiosity got the better of me and I had to try it out to see if it could be done.

What You Need:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 whole eggs

I’ve seen some modifications of the ingredients list to substitute egg whites for whole eggs, adding various spices, etc. I decided to keep it real simple just to see if it could be done and if I enjoyed them, first.

What To Do:

  1. Mash the banana really well and mix in with the eggs. If you want the texture to be really smooth, use a hand mixer to really smooth out the banana chunks.
  2. Turn the stove on medium-low (this is key!) and spray with some kind of oil. It is really important that these pancakes cook for a longer time at lower heat, otherwise they will stick to the pan and fall apart when you try to flip them. Have a little patience and you will be rewarded!
  3. Add batter slowly. Since it s primarily egg-based, the pancakes spread out fast and tend to be on the thin side. Add the batter slowly so you can keep them the size you want (start small!)IMG_1922[1]
  4. You want the pancake to start looking pretty firm before you flip it, otherwise it will fall apart. That’s why it’s so important to keep it on low heat so the the outside doesn’t burn. Once you flip it, you only have to keep it on for a few second before you’re good to go!

IMG_1923[1]

I topped mine with wild blueberries (via frozen bag from Costco – but they must have been wild once, right) and had a little bit of plain Greek yogurt on the side.

IMG_1924[1]

The verdict? They were pretty tasty, especially considering the fact that I don’t like bananas. Next time I will add some cinnamon to amp up the flavor, but I don’t think it needed anything in the way of sweetener – the bananas add plenty of sweetness.

One thing I will say is that you have to give up the preconception of what you know pancakes to be – light and fluffy. These are definitely on the denser side and turn out quite thin. It’s hard to say anything bad about them though, they’re just so darn easy!

I love meals that don’t use too many ingredients – five is usually my max, which is probably why I don’t get around to a lot of baking. I may have to start, as it’s really nice to feel the wave of heat when you open the oven.

Food For Thought: What’s your favorite quickie meal? Have you ever tried pancakes using anything but the usual ingredients?

Let me know if you try this recipe and what you think!

6 Responses to “Jumped on the Two Ingredient Pancake Bandwagon”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 January 23, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    I love two-ingredient pancakes! I’m glad you’re finding them to be tasty and successful! I always make mine with cinnamon haha so I guess I should call them three-ingredient pancakes. Another way to make them fluffier is adding a couple tablespoons of canned pumpkin (four-ingredient pancakes…)

    But I’m totally with you on recipes having a maximum of five ingredients- I usually look over any recipe that has more than that. Also why I’M not a baker at all. Too much work haha.

    Also- here’s a really good recipe for an oatmeal pancake- more ingredients and more work but really really delicious and nutritious! http://www.katheats.com/?page_id=289

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta January 23, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      Thanks for the tips! I was really curious about using only two ingredients and I’m glad that it basically works out. Also, KERF is one of my favorite blogs, I love seeing her recipes on your blog 🙂

      • wickedhealthywashingtonian33 January 23, 2013 at 11:52 am #

        Yes! Love KERF! Kath is the best.

  2. RachLapchak January 23, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    I keep seeing this recipe out there! I live a gluten free lifestyle, so this is definitely something that I could get used to since I never eat pancakes anymore.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta January 23, 2013 at 11:34 am #

      Yes, the recipe has really made its way around the Internet! You should definitely give it a try and see how you like it. It’s quick and so easy. Let me know what you think of it 🙂

  3. Aunt Rebecca January 25, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    You’re welcome, babe! Love you!!

Your turn to share!

