Lately the Weather Has Been So Bipolar

22 Jan

Anyone recognize the song lyrics in my blog post today?

I say this because the weekend went from t-shirt weather on Sunday to freezing temps for the inauguration.

IMG_1903[1]The picture above was taken on our way to pick up our inauguration tickets from our Congressional representative. I started out the walk with a shirt, a fleece, and an overcoat and was down to the shirt before we made it to the building. The sign was shining and my phone declared it to be nearly 60 degrees. January weather, my butt.

IMG_1904[1]We made it to the building and we able to walk right through, after going through a quick security screen. Hello, Washington State!

IMG_1905[1]Inside the office, we got to chat with the Congressional aides about the recent Seahawks loss (boo!) and munch on brownies and cookies. It was so fun to go back “home” for a little while! After picking up our tickets and having our picture taken for posterity (or something), we were back outside to enjoy the weather.

IMG_1906[1]Because of the mild temps, we decided that it was time to treat dinner like summer and use the grill. Stefano rustled up some delicious chicken kabobs, loaded with lots of good veggies.

IMG_1899[1]I don’t know what it is, but I am convinced that grilling meat brings out a very primitive instinct in men. Stick them in front of fire and they turn into cavemen.ย Man make fire, man cook meat on fire for cavewoman – rawrrrrr.

Evolutionary regressions aside, the kabobs turned out great and I had no problem scarfing them down.

IMG_1900[1]

I actually didn’t have a problem scarfing anything down this weekend, including cupcakes at the new apartment of our friends Eric and Sam.

The 'S' was for Sharks, as in the NHL team.

The ‘S’ was for Sharks, as in the NHL team.

Or homemade pizza:

IMG_1907[1]

Or fresh-out-of-the-oven lasagna:

IMG_1916[1]It was a ridiculously carb-tastic weekend, though my body is paying the price. Apparently, tomato sauce isn’t a vegetable, despite what Congress thinks.

I think my carb cravings were in preparation of standing outside for eight hours for the Inauguration on Monday. I needed a winter layer of fat to protect my body ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_1910[1]We got there at 7:00 AM and stayed through the end of the ceremonies. It was a wonderful, bucket-list experience, but I don’t think I am willing to brave it again. Crowds are really not my thing and I think that I will be more than happy to watch it from the comfort of my own home next time. Beyonce killed it during the National Anthem, though.

beyonce-knowles-singing-467

[ source ]

Love her.

It’s looking like it’s going to be an action-packed week at work because we missed Monday, so I’ve got to get a move on. Hoping everybody has a wonderful day and stays warm! I don’t know where you are, but if you’re anywhere near the DMV it is hovering around 20-25 degrees. BRR!

Your turn to share!

