Pho and Cupcakes

18 Jan

Boy oh boy are the temperatures dropping in DC this week! Between the clear skies and the wind chill this morning, it was a freeeezing walk to the bus stop. It sure is a beautiful day, though.

IMG_1897[1]Last night was spent celebrating my roommate’s 25th birthday! We went out for dinner at a Vietnamese place nearby, which serves up delicious bowls of pho and a killer avocado smoothie.

The birthday girl and her avocado smoothie!

The birthday girl and her avocado smoothie!

With the cold temps outside, a big bowl of hot soup sounded like the perfect way to end the day. In Seattle, the pho places around the campus of the University of Washington has choices for different sized bowls, which range from extra small to extra large. The extra large bowls are big enough to bathe a small baby inside, which, after explaining this to my other roommate, he suggested performing baby baptisms in pho bowls. Somehow I don’t see that catching on.

IMG_1878[1]I love adding lime and basil to my bowls of pho so they take on a nice citrus-y flavor. I am convinced that a big bowl of this stuff will cure most ailments.

After dinner, it was back to our house for some funfetti cupcakes, specially requested by the birthday girl. I didn’t use any substitutions or try to ‘healthify’ them – they were just some good, all American, straight-from-the-box cupcakes.

IMG_1880[1]Complete with frosting from a container, of course. The boys seemed to enjoy them.

IMG_1894[1]Sorry for the blur – they were just too speedy for my camera.

By the end of the night, the cupcake count was as follows:

K: 5

Birthday girl: 1

Me: 1 (plus inordinate amounts of frosting)

M: 3

Stef: 3? 4? I lost count, because he kept cutting them in half and filling them with frosting to make “cupcake sandwiches”

Attempted house picture while hopped up on sugar.

Attempted house picture while hopped up on sugar.

It was a lovely celebration and reminded me once again of how awesome the roomies are.

This morning, it was time to get creative in the kitchen. I do my grocery shopping on Friday evenings, which means the morning before I go grocery shopping is usually slim pickins. After preparing my lunch, I scrounged together enough ingredients to make a pretty delicious omelette, with a side of sweet potato and juicy red grapes.

IMG_1895[1]Inside the omelette:

  • 3 eggs
  • Handful of baby spinach
  • Three sliced mushrooms
  • 1 wedge of Laughing Cow Creamy Swiss
  • A few tablespoons of salsa

Good combination of carbs and protein – I’m a fan!

I’m not sure when egg yolks got turned into the bad guy, but I can’t see myself ever tossing them out – I can’t bear to waste any food! I know there’s lots of cholesterol in them, but who ever heard of someone dying because they ate too many eggs? It’s a risk I’m willing to take.

The first part of this weekend is looking pretty low-key, so I’m hoping to get some reading done. I started a book that I picked up at the used bookstore when Stef and I were in Old Town last weekend.

IMG_1898[1]I really like this author, who is Italian (though the book is in English). I read one of his other books, called ‘La Bella Figura’, which is about trying to explain Italian ways of doing things to foreigners. Being a foreigner, but having lived in Italy, I found the book to be totally hilarious in its accuracy. If you have ever lived in Italy, or even visited on vacation, I recommend you read it. In this installment, Severgnini turns the tables and tries to explain the United States from the point of view of an Italian. I am really enjoying it so far and I’m looking forward to reading it on my lunch break today.

Food for Thought: Do you have exciting plans for the long weekend? For fellow DC-ers, are you planning on going to the inauguration?

I am trying to prepare my outfit for Monday, because it’s supposed to be freezing and we’ll be standing out there for hours. Layers, anyone? I’m totally okay with looking like the Michelin Man for a morning if it means I’ll be comfortable.

For your viewing pleasure:

The birthday girl is a huge 90s music/boy band fan like I am (which explains why we get along so well) and she introduced us to the wonder of boy band satire, as presented by a group called 2ge+her (pronounced ‘together’). Their repertoire includes masterpieces like The Hardest Part of Breaking Up (Is Getting Your Stuff Back), with lyrical gems like these:

“You borrow stuff every time I turn my back.
(hey that’s mine!)
I can’t believe I went out with a KLEPTOMANIAC!”

You’re welcome.

Have a wonderful long weekend, everyone!

3 Responses to “Pho and Cupcakes”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 January 18, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    Layer layer and… LAYER. It’s going to be wicked cold on Monday- you won’t regret any of your layers. When you think you’re warm enough, add one more layer to your ensemble.

    While I’m not going to the inauguration (my 2008 memories are tiding me over), I promise you that you’ll have the best time. It’s an amazing experience and it will make you fall in love with America all over again. SO even though you’ll be miserably cold and the crowds will be the most obnoxious thing you’ve ever dealt with- it’ll be worth it 🙂 Have fun!

    My biggest concern right now is trying to nail down where I want to eat brunch on inauguration day… all about the food- big surprise, right?

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta January 18, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

      Yayyy, thanks for the advice! I am sure it is going to be amazing, but I am increasingly concerned about not being able to stay warm.

      I imagine it shouldn’t be too hard to find a brunch place, it just might be expensive. Orrrr you can make an epic brunch at your house 🙂

      In any case, it’s a three-day weekend so it can’t be bad!

  2. Aunt Rebecca January 25, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Ummmmm….. M & I are the only ones I know who LOVE Vietnamese avo shakes! Most folks just look mildly shocked when I describe them.

Your turn to share!

