Costco Treasures

8 Jan

There is a new Costco that opened up in DC, which great because it means Stef and I don’t have to drive out to Maryland to go to the one near the University of Maryland in College Park.

It has been awhile since we have made a trip to Costco and I definitely needed to replenish some of my staples, namely the big bags of frozen vegetables and frozen berries I like to keep handy. The veggies are great for throwing in just about anything to get an extra handful of vegetables when you can. I also love the berries because they are perfect for smoothies – no ice needed! I just mix them with Greek yogurt and some soy milk and they’re good to go!

This time around, a discover a new-to-me Costco treasure: frozen salmon fillets! I am always hesitant to buy fresh fish, because I worry that I won’t make it before it goes bad, so the pre-packaged frozen servings are a wonderful discovery for me.

20130108-082327.jpg
I decided to try them out for dinner last night and cooked the salmon (after letting it defrost in the fridge overnight) on the stovetop with some garlic and herb seasoning. It took about 7 minutes on each side at medium heat.

20130108-082615.jpg
I broke out my new bag of frozen veggies and sautéed those quickly, while a sweet potato cooked in the microwave for 4 minutes. It still blows my mind that you can cook sweet potatoes and squash in the microwave – it saves so much time!

20130108-082757.jpg
A little Greek yogurt adds some nice creaminess to the sweet potato.

I finished off the meal with two chocolate chip cookies and an episode of Downton Abbey. I had never seen the show, but people all around me are really into it so I decided to give it a go once I realized I couldn’t get the channel for the BCS game last night and Downton Abbey was on Netflix.

I love period movies and shows (hello, I’m a woman!), but I’m not hooked on this one yet. I’ll give it a few more episodes before I pass judgment.

I went to bed nice and early last night so I was awake before my alarm went off, which gave me a little extra time to make this masterpiece:

20130108-084944.jpg
That’s a three egg omelette with tomatoes, half an avocado, some sliced mushrooms, a few piece of smoked salmon, and a sprinkle of feta. It was as massive as it looked and I had a bit of trouble flipping it, so the end result was a bit burnt and didn’t look so pretty.

20130108-085157.jpg
Nothing a little salsa can’t fix, though! I have to say that I am super full and will have no problem waiting for lunch.

I am contemplating a lunchtime ‘Cardio and Tone’ class because I want to get home earlier and didn’t manage to do a morning workout. Does anybody have any tips on getting to the gym in the morning? I always end up sleeping through the morning workouts because I know I can just go to a class in the evening and sleep sounds so much better.

Food For Thought: What time do you exercise? Is there a time of day when you tend to have more energy?

One Response to “Costco Treasures”

  1. Lucy L January 10, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    1) I don’t know how long I’d survive w/o a Costco nearby
    2) Yesss frozen salmon filets are a godsend
    3) Downton Abbey took me a couple episodes as well. I think it’s because they really just jump right into the action, slowly unraveling the background story through interactions rather than just telling the audience. To me, its an intelligent method of storytelling that also feels more realistic. I mean, these people aren’t going to stand around and talk about what’s gone on for the last 30 or so years on any random workday–even if it is the day the Titanic sank.

Your turn to share!

