Hungry For Change

4 Jan

Rats, guys. The cold I was hoping to avoid yesterday finally got to me. Throughout the course of the work day yesterday, I became snifflier (that’s a technical term) and more congested. I knew by the end of the day that a workout was just not going to make it onto the books. I am a bit bummed that I didn’t make it to the gym since I didn’t do anything active during my Seattle vacation, but my body was just not up for it. I also figured I would have mercy on the rest of the people I have to take classes with. Nobody wants a sniffling mess in their class spreading germs!

I really didn’t know what to do when I got home since it was a good hour and a half earlier than usual, but I immediately changed into my pajamas. I decided to call it an early dinner and made myself a bowl of seafood marinara pasta. It came together really quickly because I had a package of frozen seafood from Trader Joe’s just waiting for me. I am not going to lie, I love that fact that I have been able to make lunches and dinners without getting to the grocery store this week. I am definitely ready for some fresh produce, though.

IMG_1796[1]Pasta and tea? A unique combination, but all warmth definitely made my body happy.

After tidying up around the house, it was still only 8 o’clock. I wanted to get to bed early and get lots of rest, but I was not trying to wake up at four because I couldn’t sleep any longer. I decided to check Netflix to see if they had a film that was recommended to me by my friend, Lucy.

IMG_1797[1]Sure enough, there it was on instant queue. Hungry For Change is a second documentary from the directors of the film, Food Matters. This film talk about the food industry and begins by discussing what goes on behind the scenes of biotech labs and how processed foods become the way they are. It then transitions into the topic of processed foods and the effects they have on your body and mind. Some major points I took away from the film:

  • Our brains still treat food the way they did when we were hunter-gatherers and are thus biologically inclined to prefer fatty, high-calorie foods – particularly carbohydrates, in order to prepare ourselves in cases of famine.
  • In modern society, the availability of said foods has increased exponentially and cases of famine are non-existent in Western society.
  • As a result, obesity and diet-related complications are on the rise
  • Your body knows how to take care of itself, but you have to fuel it properly.
  • Processed foods=bad, whole foods=good.
  • Sugar is the enemy.

I found the film to be thought-provoking, if a little scathing towards processed foods and sugar. While I don’t have a scientific background, it seems a bit harsh to compare feeding your kids sugar and injecting them with heroin (one of the statements made by a doctor in the film). One critique I had was of the incredible amount of correlation=causation. While some of the people being interviewed were scientists or health practitioners, a number of them were people with anecdotal experiences, which doesn’t strike me as hugely credible. One of my pet peeves is when people make radical scientific claims and don’t cite the study for us to research ourselves and this film did a lot of that.

While I agreed with much of what they had to say (we as a society consumer sugar and process foods in dangerous excess), the biases in the film were obvious, as with most documentaries, and it was difficult to consider the film an objective analysis of the way we approach food in modern society, particularly the United States.

The video above is for the official trailer, which gives you a general idea of what the film is about. Though I have my own critiques about the film, I highly recommend people watch it because it brings up a lot of cultural ideologies that we must change in order to progress towards healthier lifestyles. Here are a couple more reviews of the film by some other bloggers:

I, for one, am going to start paying more attention to what kinds of foods I am eating, because I know that I tend to gravitate towards carbohydrates. My goal is to reach aย balanced diet, including carbohydrates and proteins and fats. I am thinking of starting a food diary so I can see how much processed food I am eating and just because it’ll be fun to see if any patterns emerge (if I get cravings for certain foods at different times of the day or month, etc.).

Also, if you don’t follow me on Twitter or didn’t catch the articles I posted yesterday, the New York Times posted some interesting health related articles that some of you may like to read:

logo

In semi-related news, I just learned that I was chosen to be a Girls Gone Sporty ambassador! I was notified the other day by Laura Williams, the co-owner of the group and I am so excited to be part of their community! My ambassador information should be up on their website soon (I’ll let you know when it is) but you can bet that you’ll be hearing more about them on this blog in the future.

Whew, that was lengthy! I just had so much to say today before my weekend break. This weekend will probably consist of lots of rest time, though I would like to get my sweat on at least once. Sunday afternoon is all football: Seattle Seahawks play the Washington Redskins in the playoffs and my loyalties are not even remotely divided – Seahawks all the way, baby!

Wishing you all a wonderful and restful first weekend of 2013!

Food For Thought:ย Have you seen Hungry For Change or any other food documentaries? Did they change the way you thought about food/nutrition?

 

 

2 Responses to “Hungry For Change”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race January 4, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Thank you for posting the link to my review of Hungry For Change. Documentaries are very hard to review from a non-biased perspective because of the fact that we go into them with a point of view already created, whether we believe that or not.

    That being said if you shut out the noise and just focus on your own personal life while watching the movie there is a lot of good that the movie shares with us that we can take into account when it comes to our diet.

    Again, thank you for sharing the link.

  2. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 January 4, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I loved how much this post gave me to think about! Look at you, scholarly healthy blogger ๐Ÿ™‚ Now I reallllly want to watch that documentary! I have a feeling it will make me angry as anything too extreme with its message really bothers me (i.e. the doctor who compares feeding your kids sugar and injecting them with heroin). That’s just insane.

    Also- FEEL BETTER! Being sick is the worst. Eat lots of clementines and rest up ๐Ÿ™‚

Your turn to share!

