Blister

3 Jan

Good morning! I’m writing to you guys from the bus stop while waiting to get to work. My usual walk to work was thwarted after I developed a massive blister on one heel during my walk yesterday morning. Not really sure how that happened, as I was wearing the same shoes I always do.

Said blister made yesterday’s Body Pump class a little difficult, especially during lunges when my back foot was constantly moving up and down. It still felt great to be back at the gym, though! The gym had a box of free samples of Tom’s deodorant to try. It’s all natural, which makes me question how effective it will be as a deodorant but it’s worth a shot! I’m all about natural alternative to everyday products.

20130103-081902.jpg

True to form, the gym was packed with Resolutioners and I saw the cardio equipment completely full for the first time! Body Pump was pretty busy, too. I find myself getting territorial when the gym fills up like this, though I am also really happy that people are making healthy choices at the start of the year. I just have to remind myself that there’s enough gym to go around!

I didn’t make it to the grocery store again yesterday, so it was slim pickings for dinner. Lucky for me, my pantry and freezer are stocked well enough for me to get through the week until Stef and I go on our TJ’s grocery date.

20130103-081347.jpg
Speaking of Trader Joe’s, I found this box in the back of my freezer. I had totally forgotten about it, but was happy to try it out for the first time. There are three packs to a box, each with about two servings of rice. The rice is pre-cooked so all you have to do is pop it in the microwave for three minutes or so. While that was heating up, I sautéed some vegetables on the stove for a quickly and easy dinner.

20130103-081657.jpg
I sprinkled some feta on top for a little flava.

It is definitely full out cold now, so hot breakfasts are a must in my world. Due to lack of fresh food, I have been relying on oatmeal with berries in the mornings, accompanied by a huge mug of tea, which is partly for warmth and partly to stave off a cold I feel coming on.

20130103-082127.jpg
Despite a good night’s sleep and plenty of liquids, that unmistakable scratchiness in my throat is there. Here’s hoping an upcoming weekend of rest will nip it in the bud!

Food For Thought: What are your strategies for getting rid of colds or fending them off before they arrive?

Your turn to share!

