No More Restaurants

31 Dec

I have eaten out more than I have stayed in while on vacation and to be perfectly honest, I’m starting to get sick of it. Don’t get me wrong, the meals have been delicious and I have enjoyed the company immensely, but there’s just something I enjoy about making my own food.

This morning I had brunch with my friend Taylor, who just returned to the United States after living in Cairo, Egypt for awhile. We met at one of my very favorite Seattle spots, Portage Bay Cafe.

When I was a sophomore in college, my apartment was located just a few blocks from this place and I spent many a weekday morning there with my roommate and friend, Amy. We had a physics class together in the morning twice a week and would always precede it with an early morning hot yoga session, followed by breakfast at Portage. Believe me when I say their breakfast is the best way to start the morning.

20121230-221121.jpg
My favorite part about the restaurant is the fruit bar. If you order any of the pancakes, French toast, or yogurt parfait selections, you have access to an unlimited buffet of toppings for your meal. The toppings include fresh fruit, nuts, maple syrup, butter, and freshly made whipped cream.

20121230-221313.jpg

They also make a mean omelette and wonderful scrambles. One of my favorites is called migas and is a southwestern-inspired egg scramble, wrapped in a tortilla the size of a small baby. Unperturbed by its size, Taylor ordered it and dug right in!

20121230-221521.jpg Portage Bay meals are some of the very few that are too large for me to finish and I always end up taking a box of leftovers home. Today was no different and I am excited to eat my last piece of French toast for breakfast tomorrow!

We had a fabulous time catching up and I loved hearing about her adventures in Egypt. I am amazed that she managed to live in Cairo as long as she did. I have been there a couple of times and while it’s an incredible place to visit, it is much too chaotic and crowded for me to ever want to live there. It was fun to live vicariously through her, though!

20121230-221935.jpg

Your turn to share!

