Cinnamon Apple Chips

20 Dec

There is only one more day between me and Friday and going home is so close I can taste it! My only hope is the winter storm that’s making its way across the nation won’t interfere with my travel plans. PLEASE, weather gods, have mercy on Christmas travelers!

After my Body Pump workout last night, I was craving a burger and fries in a major way. I am in the process of trying to eat all my food before I leave town and I knew I had some sweet potatoes that needed to be used, so sweet potato fries it was! What I usually do to make mine is slice up one large sweet potato into 1/2″ slices and drizzle with a little bit of olive oil on a cookie sheet, then top them with salt and lots of pepper.

Then I pop the sheet into a 450 degree oven for 15 minutes.

I was super hungry and had some cucumber slices and hummus to stave off hunger while the fries were baking.

IMG_1650[1]

After 15 minutes is up, I take the cookie sheet out to turn the fries over, then put them back into the oven for another 10-15 minutes (depending on how crispy you want them).

IMG_1652[1]While the fries were baking, I prepped my burger by defrosting two MorningStar Farms tomato basil burger patties (vegetarian) and topping a sandwich thin with mustard, ketchup, and relish. That came together quite easily and was all ready when the fries came out!

IMG_1655[1]Delicious! I love being able to make fast food items at home – you know exactly what’s in your meal and you can customize the meal exactly to your preferences.

A week or two ago, I bought a big bag of apples from Trader Joe’s that just weren’t very good. I kept bringing them for lunches, but I really wasn’t enjoying their flavor. I still wanted to find a way to use them because I abhor wasting food. That’s when the idea for Cinnamon Apple Chips came into my head. I wasn’t really sure how they would turn out, but I just decided to go for it. They turned out pretty well! The only thing I recommend now is having a mandolin for making the slices nice and thin. I had to bake mine for almost three hours to get the desired crispy texture of chips because my slices were cut with a knife and a little on the thicker side.

IMG_1653[1]All you need to do is slice (or mandolin) your apples as thinly as possible, then place them on a cookie sheet with some parchment paper (so they don’t stick), then top with a light dusting of cinnamon. I contemplated making it cinnamon sugar, but I figured that apples are already so sweet, I didn’t need to add extra sugar. Then I stuck them in the oven for an hour at 200 degrees. I kept checking on them and adding more time to the oven until I felt that they were at the texture I desire. The total time ended up being about 2 hours and 40 minutes.

Luckily, I had season 8 of Scrubs and a notebook of goals for 2013 to pass the time.

IMG_1663[1]The kitchen really started to smell like apples and cinnamon and I was tempted to just take them out and eat them the way they were! I managed to resist until they were finally ready.

IMG_1665[1]Of course I had to taste them, which is why you might notice a missing piece or two. The rest I bagged up and put them in my lunchbox for a sweet snack today! While they do take quite awhile, most of that time doesn’t involve being anywhere near the kitchen, so it’s not that time consuming. Next time, I will make a big batch and save them as go-to snacks when I’m craving something crispy.

Food for Thought: Do you ever try to make a fast food favorite at home?

Your turn to share!

