Dinner by Delivery

13 Dec

IMG_1635[1]

That was my attempt at flipping my eggs this morning. Fail. Luckily, I stuck those babies between two slices of bread and covered my mistakes right up.

IMG_1636[1]One purchase I am majorly digging right now is the container of red seedless grapes I purchased last week. They are so sweet and refreshing! My eyes were way bigger than my stomach this morning and somehow I ended up with an egg sandwich AND a yogurt bowl? That should tide me over until lunch and then some.

You know what else is bigger than my stomach? The piece of pita bread I had for dinner last night. In fact, it was even bigger than my face.

IMG_1630[1]

It came as part of a box of food I ordered online from a Middle Eastern grocery called Hashems.

IMG_1626[1]

They are located in Dearborn, Michigan, but luckily they ship anywhere in the country and the food (before the shipping, anyway) is majorly cheap. That piece of pita? There were nine more like it in the package I ordered and it was all $1.95. WHAT?! Check out the rest of my haul, too!

IMG_1627[1]What you see:

  • 10-pack of 10″ pita
  • A corer for making mahshi kousa, Arabic for stuffed zucchini
  • 8 oz. of seven spice, which is a must-have for so many Middle Eastern recipes (they grind it by hand!)
    • Side note: seven spice is a mixture of black pepper, allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg, paprika, coriander, and cumin
  • 5 cans of fava beans for making ful, a quintessential Egyptian meal
  • 3-pack of mango juice boxes
  • 3-pack of guava juice boxes
  • 16-oz package of roasted watermelon seeds (a classic Egyptian snack)

I was so excited to try all the foods, I immediately ditched the whole wheat couscous and vegetables that I was going to make for dinner and cooked up some fava beans with a side of warm pita bread – delicious! I also tried one of the mango juice boxes and it was perfect. The brand is one you can actually buy in Egypt, so I knew it was going to be wonderful.

IMG_1634[1]

 

So easy to prepare, it was like having dinner delivered to me! I can’t wait to start cooking with the spices and put the corer to good use – it really makes coring vegetables a lot easier.

Speaking of vegetables, I came across this sign at a bus stop while I was walking to work this morning.

IMG_1624[1]

It was paid for by the National Institute of Health and I think it is fabulous. DC-ers, if you want to see it for yourself, it’s at the intersection of 16th, U, and New Hampshire NW.

I love that it is advertised as a challenge to make it fun for adults and kids. Did you know that many kids can’t even recognize some vegetables? In this YouTube video, Jamie Oliver visits a first grade class where the students have a very difficult time identifying different fresh vegetables – even tomatoes!

Growing up, I always had what I consider “normal” vegetables: carrots, cucumbers, lettuce, potatoes, etc. It wasn’t until I was older and making my own meals that I started to experiment with things like butternut squash, spaghetti squash, and kale. I still haven’t tried turnips or rutabagas! I think this salad challenge is a great way to get children familiar with all sorts of different vegetables. There are just so many choices that it is impossible to get bored.

Food for Thought: Which vegetables are new to you? Is there a vegetable you haven’t eaten that you’d like to try?

 

 

2 Responses to “Dinner by Delivery”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 December 13, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Ahhhh I love that sign too! It is literally one block from my apartment and I see it every day. I like that it’s about being healthy but its not pushy or elitist in nature- it’s fun! Plus I love trying to add as many veggies as possible to my salads so I dig it even more.

    And um- red seedless grapes are the greatest. I always forget how much I love em till they are in my fridge. So crunchy and delicious and sweet. I feel ya there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Real Winter Wonderland « Magia e Pasta - January 24, 2013

    […] squash (chopped, baked in oven at 425 for an hour) that I had sprinkled with the seven-spice I purchased from Hashems. The seven spice is a combination of ground black pepper, allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg, paprika, […]

Your turn to share!

