The Angel Effect

5 Dec

How cozy does the lobby of Stef’s apartment look? Between the pretty lights on the tree and the fireplace, I definitely want to just snuggle up on the couch with a blanket and a good book. Unfortunately, it’s Wednesday so I’ll have to hold out for another few days.IMG_1568[1]

Here’s another pretty tree I saw through the window as I walked home from boot camp at the gym last night – I just love the stuffed bear!IMG_1567[1]

Lunch yesterday: An assortment of veggies (cucumbers, grape tomatoes, baby carrots), strawberry Chobani, an apple, and a sandwich thin with a wedge of Laughing Cow Creamy Swiss inside.

IMG_1564[1]Last night I went to the boot camp class at my gym and had a fabulous time. The weather has been extremely warm for December this past week, so our trainer took us outside to enjoy it while it lasted. We warmed up by jogging to a nearby church and assembled ourselves on the wide steps just below. After a few quick stretches, we partnered up (Allison was my partner – yay real life blogger friends!) and were given our assignment: partner 1 waits at the base of the steps while partner 2 runs up the first set of stairs, does a burpee, runs up the second set of stairs to “tag” the pillars at the top of the stairs, then repeats the process on the way back down. We ended up doing it pyramid style (first round was one burpee, second round was two burpees, etc.). WHY ARE BURPEES SO HARD?! It never ceases to amaze me how quickly I tire when I am doing them.

burpees

We made our way back to the gym and went up to the roof, where we have a turf area and started our circuit which included Russian swings, chest presses, push-ups, jumping lunges, V-sits with weights, squat jumps, and the ever-present burpees.  I was pretty good and sweaty by the time it was over. Sometimes I’m concerned about the time spent standing around and waiting for instructions while I’m at boot camp, but the time we do spend moving is time well spent.

After my workout, I went over to Stef’s to watch the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show, which brings me to the title of this post. There is a certain phenomenon that takes place every year after this fashion show that I like to call the Angel Effect. I first started noticing it in college, when I worked out at the athletic center we had on campus. Without fail, the day after the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show, the gym would be jam-packed with women on ellipticals and treadmills. The locker room was totally full and it was impossible to get to the StairMaster without standing in line.

You can’t really blame anyone who watches this show to feel out of place, but I want to tell everyone a secret***: normal routines of diet and exercise will not get you a Victoria’s Secret Angel body. I see workouts pinned on Pinterest all the time that say “Victoria’s Secret Workout” or “Get a Body Like a VS Angel”. Let me tell you, every single woman on that stage falls into one of two categories:

The Ectomorph to the Max: There is a percentage of the population that just doesn’t carry much body fat. They’re almost always ectomorphs. Do you have a friend that eats whatever she wants, never exercises, and still doesn’t put on an ounce of weight? She would be in this category. When some models say they don’t work out very much or just try to “eat healthy”, they probably fall into this category, or they’re lying. Which leads me to the next category…

The Square in the Circle: The square in the circle is the person who doesn’t have that body type naturally and has forced their body to look a certain way through a variety of unhealthy practices (not eating enough, overexercising, etc.). There are many models who are naturally skinny, yes, but there are plenty who suffer from a variety of eating disorders that sometimes end up being fatal.

***I am not a dietician, a nutrionist, a doctor, or a personal trainer. This are my own opinions and should not necessarily be taken as fact.

There is so much discussion on the internet concerning body image, eating disorders, and unrealistic expectation about what the “perfect” body type is. There isn’t a “perfect” body type. Not everyone has the same body type, just like people don’t have the same hair or eye color. At the risk of sounding like a Dove commercial, beauty comes in all shapes and sizes. The most important thing is health and whether you are taking care of your body.

569-perfect-body-cartoon

 

[source]

The show and its aftermath reminds me of why I joined the healthy living blogosphere in the first place. There are so many inspirational people out in the world wide web of ours who strive to take care of themselves and make little changes every day to improve their health. I am constantly inspired when I hear of somebody who has decided to exercise for the first time ever or is cutting out fast food or is starting to meditate for their mental health. Your mental, emotional, and physical health is the foundation from which the rest of your life stems and it should never be neglected. So, if you’re feeling like you should get on the treadmill and run, that’s fine – but make sure you’re doing it for you and your health and not because a lady walking down a runway in her underwear is making you feel bad.

cycle

On that note, I want to tell you guys about something new I’m trying today: a lunch workout! I am going to a show this evening and won’t be able to make it to the gym at the time I usually do, so I signed up for a lunchtime spin class. I have had some reservations about lunchtime workouts, just because I worry about running out of time and/or spending the rest of the day feeling like a sweaty mess. I figure this will be a trial run and I’ll let you know what I think.

Food For Thought: When is your favorite time of the day to work out? Have you have tried to go to the gym during your lunch break at work?

 

3 Responses to “The Angel Effect”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 December 5, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    this post is spot on. love it.

  2. bezzymates December 5, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    That’s so funny. You really see a lot of people working toward a VS body after the fashion show? They won’t last on that treadmill because as you stated, they are doing it to look like an air brushed super- model, not to be healthy. Great post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Random Lists | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian - December 11, 2012

    […] Holiday Music for you Gym Playlist 2. 24 Days of Togetherness 3. The Angel Effect 4. Recipe Roundup: Holiday Recipes 5. Beds and Spreads (the sole reason I love this post is for the […]

Your turn to share!

