Bottom of the Barrel

29 Nov

Soooo, there was frost on the windows of the cars outside my house this morning….is it that time of year??? The leggings under my work pants have become a regular thing now and I am seriously considering going back to Urban Outfitters to buy those panda ear warmers I found.

It is slim pickings in my refrigerator and I am scraping the bottom of the barrel for meal ideas until I do my regularly scheduled Trader Joe’s date with Stef tomorrow evening. Lunch yesterday was basically a deconstructed, veggie-only version of the salad I had for lunch the day before.

The cucumbers are in there, they’re just hiding at the bottom of the container!

I also slathered some hummus on a sandwich thin to get some whole grains in, too!

My usual Wednesday Body Pump workout was more exciting than usual, because I had my new friend Allison join the class! This was her first class and she really enjoyed it, so I’m hoping that she’ll be making an appearance at those with me. It’s so much fun to have a gym buddy!

As I was telling Allison after class, I had no idea what I was going to make for dinner. Lo and behold, when I arrived home, I stood in front of the refrigerator for a solid five minutes, trying to figure out what I could put together. This is what I ended up with:

What you see is steamed cauliflower, which has been mashed with plain Greek yogurt and topped with salsa, salt, and pepper. On the side was a slice of my roommate’s homemade bread. It actually tasted great, but turned this weird shade of salmon after I mixed it all together. Not the most aesthetically pleasing meal I’ve ever had, that’s for sure.

Post-dinner, I snuggled up on the couch with a blanket and watched a few episodes of The Kennedys on Netflix. I’m a total history nerd and the Kennedy family is so fascinating! For ultimate coziness, I added a big mug of vanilla and cinnamon tea and some toast with peanut butter and honey.

Amazingly, I was in bed before ten though, thanks to the New York Times and Pinterest apps on my phone, I didn’t actually turn out the light until around eleven. I love browsing the fitness pages on Pinterest for new workouts on the rare occasion that I decide to actually do my own, instead of going to a group class.

I pulled out the frozen berries for breakfast, which turned another one of my meals salmon pink, but it was in a yogurt bowl, so it looked a little more appealing.

That was the last of my honey Greek yogurt, so I will have to do without until tomorrow evening. If you are a Trader Joe’s shopper and need a yogurt flavor, the honey Greek yogurt is just wonderful. I like to mix it with some plain yogurt so I’m not consuming too much sugar in the morning, but the subtle sweetness is perfect.

Today was day two of walking to work! It was a little colder than yesterday morning, but the sun was shining and the stroll was pleasant. Ear warmers would have definitely come in handy, though. Christmas present, anyone? 😉

Speaking of Christmas (or Hanukkah or Kwanzaa – Eid has already passed!) presents, is there anything in particular people are asking for this year? I usually have a Google doc set up for family so they can get an idea of things I’ve been looking at and I can add to the list when something occurs to me, which saves me the stress of coming up with ideas right before the holidays. I find that “stuff” becomes less appealing when you have a full-time job, because I usually end up just buying something for myself if I’m really needing it or have been lusting after it for awhile. Plus, the whole idea of material goods has become less important to me as I’ve become more nomadic. Having moved houses every year since I was 18, I am desperately trying not to amass large quantities of anything because it makes moving, a task I dread to begin with, significantly more difficult.

Food For Thought: If you’re celebrating a holiday where gift exchange is traditional, what is on your wish list?

Have a wonderful Thursday, everybody!

3 Responses to “Bottom of the Barrel”

  1. bezzymates November 29, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Hi Sarah.
    I just wanted you to know your inspiring posts and yummy recipes have really helped me to stay on track and enjoy healthy eating. I always look forward to your meal plans that you post and new ideas.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta November 30, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      Thank you! That’s such a sweet thing to say and I really appreciate it. The same goes for you! I love your posts because they are so inspiring for everybody reading, especially on days when fitness goals seem so far away. You really motivate me to stick with it 🙂

      • bezzymates December 1, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

        Thanks Sarah. It does mean a lot. Keep on with what you’re doing!

Your turn to share!

