In Real Life

28 Nov

I decided to switch things up this morning and walk to work! Normally I take the bus (and in rare cases, the Metro), but today was so beautiful and Google Maps said it would take 45 minutes, so I decided to give it a go. I made sure to bundle up before I left the house because last night was unbelievably cold – chattering teeth and purple nail beds definitely made an appearance. Armed with a hat, scarf, and gloves, plus leggings underneath my pants, I headed out. Luckily for me, the 2.5 mile walk to work is completely downhill and I made it there in 40 minutes – about the same time it takes me when I’m on public transportation. New goal: walk to work when the weather is nice and only take the bus/Metro in inclement weather.ย The walk definitely energized me and I came into the office feeling much cheerier than I usually do at 8:30 in the morning.

Speaking of morning, I have been waking up about 10 minutes before my alarm every day this week. This has given me a few extra minutes in the morning to read the New York Times on my phone while sipping a gigantic mug of tea. This morning, it was accompanied by some maple walnut oatmeal.

Maple Walnut Oatmeal

  • 3/4 cup old fashioned raw oats
  • 1.5 cups water
  • couple of tablespoons of maple syrup
  • handful of crush walnuts
  • sprinkle of chia seeds

Simple. Tasty. Works for me!

Want to know what else is simple and tasty? The lunch I made yesterday, which was leftover from dinner the night before.

Guyysssss, you have to try it! The combination of flavors just really clicks for me – it’s classically Mediterranean. I’m going to call it a Mediterranean Tuna Salad and here’s how it goes:

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

  • 1 can garbanzo beans (drained)
  • 1 can tuna (drained)
  • 2 Persian cucumbers, sliced lengthwise and then chopped
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, sliced lengthwise
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions? Mix it all up. This made two servings for me and I eatย a lot, so it might even work as three servings, if you supplement it with something else. It took me all of five minutes to make and works really well on its own or inside a pita or wrap. Seriously good eats.

I was still deciding on which group class I wanted to attend while walking to the gym after work. I had made up my mind to go to Spin, but I remembered that you needed to sign up for a bike beforehand and I didn’t want to be that jerk who took somebody else’s bike. Instead, I popped into the class next door which was Zumba. You might remember that I had previously talked about some of the Zumba classes no longer getting my heart rate up, so I wasn’t expecting anything particularly strenuous. Workout-wise, it would have been a better decision to go to boot camp, but a good thing did come of the class: I finally met Allison of Wicked Healthy Washingtonian in real life! I started following her blog after discovering we went to the same gym and she introduced herself to me after class. This was the first time I had met somebody I met through the blog in person and I felt like I already knew her after reading her blog over the past few weeks. Needless to say, she is as wonderful in person as she is online and it was great fun to finally meet. She’s taking her very first Body Pump class tonight and I am really excited for her because I think she’s going to love it. At least, I hope she does! I’m always trying to get more people to jump on the Pump bandwagon ๐Ÿ™‚

The walk home from the bus last night was brutal in the cold and I needed something hot for dinner. I may have turned on the stove and warmed my hands while I was prepping for dinner. I was feeling the protein, so I did a simple scramble with three eggs, lots of frozen veggies, and a Trader Joe’s sun dried tomato and basil chicken sausage.

A little salsa on top and wrapped in a whole-wheat lavash, it was the perfect dinner to warm my insides. Especially when immediately followed by a really hot shower. Does anybody else feel tempted to shower just to warm themselves up in the winter? I am particularly bad at regulating my body temperature, so hot showers are something I eagerly anticipate in the colder months.

I hope everybody is off to a great start to their day – it is pretty incredible how much more energy I have this morning. Cheers to getting your walk on!

Food for Thought:ย How do you usually get to work/school? Does morning exercise make a difference in your energy level during the day?

4 Responses to “In Real Life”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 November 28, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Ummmm that walk home after Zumba was brutally cold- holy crap! I’m sure tonight will be just as enjoyable. But I heard this weekend is supposed to be a little warmer and next week we have some 60 degree days again! We’re saved by the weather!

    Also- I’m definitely making that oatmeal. It sounds delicious. I had a giant bowl of pumpkin oatmeal this morning. Oatmeal is so perfect on cold mornings.

    See ya later at body pump chica! I can’t wait!

  2. Aunt Rebecca November 28, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Hey Beautiful! M adds dried cranberries or chopped dried pineapple to his oatmeal for a small fruity burst. Also cinnamon. Or nutmeg. Yummmm! He’s an oatmeal wiz.

  3. Aunt Rebecca November 28, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    PS… Go ice skating with Allison! Have you ever ice skated? It is fun, really fun. Hugs!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta November 29, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      I love ice skating! She actually went on Monday and I am planning on going with Stef this Friday ๐Ÿ™‚

Your turn to share!

