Thanksgiving Weekend Recap

26 Nov

Hello!!!! How I have missed all of you! Like many, I took Thanksgiving and the subsequent weekend off of blogging and blog reading so I could spend time with my loved ones. As you know, Stef and I didn’t go home for the holiday, but managed to create a wonderful Thanksgiving of our own with a friend who was also staying in town.

To recap, I’ve created a fun little collage of some of the weekend highlights.

Do you see that gorgeous turkey in the middle? It was made by yours truly! I am so, so happy it turned out well! It was an 11.5-pounder and all remains of it had disappeared by Saturday at lunch. We went hard on the leftovers, as evidence by my pictures. It is safe to stay that I am Thanksgiving food-ed out for awhile – until next year, at least! We had a wonderful meal of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes,  and cranberry sauce. We kept it very traditional, but didn’t want to make too much food, since there were only going to be three of us. We managed to fit in an apple and a pumpkin pie, though.

After eating ourselves silly on Thursday, Stef, my roommate, and I spent most of Friday up in the forests of Rock Creek Park, where we fit in a good 4-hour hike. It was a brisk day, but the sun was out and I thoroughly enjoyed getting my body moving after being sedentary for most of the week. I had a great time hiking through the woods and leaping from rock to rock across creeks – it brought out my inner Pocahontas!

It was so nice to spend a long, long weekend with Stefano, after only getting two days out of every week together. It never ceases to amaze me that we still have so much fun together after this many years. We spent a lot of time watching Scrubs, taking walks around the neighborhood, and we each bought a pair of new running shoes! Neither of us are huge shoppers and we definitely didn’t get in on the Black Friday madness, but we did manage to take advantage of some sales that were going on through the weekend.

It has been six (YES, six) years since I have had new running shoes and I would say that I was looooonnng overdue. I’m not a huge runner, so I didn’t ever put that many miles on the shoes, but they have been around a long, long time. After accidentally stepping into Rock Creek during my rock leaping (okay, so my Pocahontas could use a little work), I decided that it was finally time to retire them. It is the end of an era.

Speaking of running shoes, I am so looking forward to getting back into my regular gym routine this week. Last week, I hit Body Pump on Monday and yoga on Tuesday. Aside from our long hike on Friday, I stayed away from exercise because a) I was worried about some knee pain I was experiencing and b) I was busy prepping for Thanksgiving. I haven’t spent this much time away from the gym since I moved to the city at the beginning of July. It certainly felt strange, though I constantly amaze myself at how easily I can fall into a routine of sitting around the house, doing nothing. 

Today it is back to the Pump and I am excited! I’m hoping my knee pain doesn’t flare up again. If it does, I think a doctor’s appointment is definitely going to be on the books.

Wishing you all a VERY happy start to the week!

Food For Thought: What is longest amount of time you have gone without exercise recently? On an unrelated note, did you participate in Black Friday? Any good finds?

 

 

One Response to “Thanksgiving Weekend Recap”

  1. Caitlin November 26, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Props to you for doing the turkey! I just don’t even know if I would ever want to take that on haha. Might be a fun challenge though! The hike sounds like fun and yes I too know the joy of getting back into routine! I didn’t miss any exercise during the Thanksgiving weekend but that doesn’t mean I didn’t mss my routine of my usual group fitness classes and doing them when I normally do them, as well as my healthy packed lunches at work. And YES I got great Black Fri deals 😀 a post on that is to come..

Your turn to share!

