None of the Above

21 Nov

Happy (almost) Thanksgiving, fellow Americans! Apologies to all blog readers outside the USA – the Thanksgiving mayhem is almost over. The turkey photo above is a huuuuge blow-up that is in the front yard of one the houses I  walk past as I come home from the bus stop. They had a pretty great Halloween set-up, too. I can’t wait to see what they have in store for Christmas!

Do you remember the dilemma I faced yesterday, when I couldn’t decide between Zumba, Spin, or Boot Camp for my daily workout? I ended up choosing (d) none of the above and went to yoga instead. After this post by Allison at Wicked Healthy Washingtonian, I took a few minutes to listen to my body and decided that I needed something that would get my body moving, but was low-impact. At Body Pump on Monday, I noticed a sharp pain behind my left kneecap while I was doing the squatting and lunging sets, which had me a little worried. Between that and really tough chest and triceps sets (I increased my weight!), I really needed to just stretttttttch.

Ha! Maybe someday…

Source

Yoga was exactly what I needed and I felt much better after leaving the studio…although the yoga studio has been temporarily moved, due to construction at my gym, so we were right next to the Spin class. Needless to say, listening to Pitbull while I’m trying to get my asanas on doesn’t put me in the most namaste of moods.

After getting home, I wandered aimlessly around the kitchen before putting together a tuna salad wrap for dinner.

I also learned that one of my roommates hates the smell of canned tuna. Interesting!

I didn’t have the most restful of sleeps and was awake half an hour before my alarm was meant to go off. That left me with a bit more time in the kitchen this morning, so I put together some pumpkin spice oatmeal for breakfast.

  • 3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1 1/2 cups vanilla soy milk
  • sprinkle of chia seeds
  • dash of ground cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice
  • a tablespoon or two of maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin

I’m so precise.

Along with the new vanilla and cinnamon tea I picked up from Trader Joe’s, it was a cozy breakfast – perfect for pre-Thanksgiving!

Speaking of Thanksgiving meals, I came across some great blog posts this morning that I feel are great reminders of approaching how we eat during the holiday season. You might remember my brief post about it, when I was discussing the 80-20 rule of eating, but I just wanted to bring it up again, since tomorrow is the start of Holiday Meal Mode.

Lindsay of Lindsay’s List and Colleen of The Lunchbox Diaries both had some great things to say. Essentially?

RELAX

Yes, now is the time when everyone puts on weight from holiday indulgences and then proceeds to diet immediately afterwards, thanks to New Year’s Resolutions.

Guys? It’s going to be okay! Eating a slice (or two) of pumpkin pie isn’t going to ruin your life. Dipping a candy cane into some spiced cider while you’re at home for the holidays is not going to derail your fitness regime. The time between now and New Year’s Day is a time to be thankful, to spend quality time with loved ones, and to realize that it’s okay to indulge and then get right back on the healthy eating wagon. I, for one, am not going to skimp on stuffing just because it’s not the best decision for my fitness goals. How many times do I eat stuffing outside of Thanksgiving dinner? A whopping ZERO times.

What Lindsay called “fake eating” in her post, is an insult to all that I believe holidays stand for: being grateful for what you have. In this case, good food and loving family/friends. I thought these words she wrote were particularly poignant:

“From 1998-2004 or so, I would “fake eat” at Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I’d follow all of those rules I listed above and make up some of my own.  Pushing food around on my plate to make it seem like I ate.  Spitting food out into napkins, hoping no one would notice.  And if I’m being perfectly honest, a couple of those dark years, I’m sure I went upstairs and purged that meal.  The meal my mama worked so hard to cook.

?!!!?!?!?

Dude.  What the heck!

It’s unacceptable behavior.  And it directly opposes the very thought of Thanksgiving.  We’re supposed to be THANKFUL for this food that we’ve been blessed with.  Thankful for the hands that prepared the meal.  Thankful that we can break bread together.”

So. PLEASE enjoy yourselves tomorrow, this weekend, next month. Don’t eat a whole plate of cookies, but don’t beat yourself up for eating one or two or three. Eat the mashed potatoes and the pecan pie and the yummy bread rolls that come right out of the oven. You’ve got January through October to eat clean. Enjoying special holidays with loved ones? That is healthy living.

I wish you all a most wonderful Thanksgiving weekend. If you’re not celebrating Thanksgiving tomorrow, I hope you have a wonderful weekend, too!

Source

2 Responses to “None of the Above”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 November 21, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    I loved this post (and not even because you were nice enough to include a shout out to me- thank you!). But seriously- awesome advice and I could not agree more.

    Also… stuffing is my absolute favorite aspect of thanksgiving. I’m so glad you agree. I literally cannot wait for it.

  2. evilcyber November 23, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    I agree that spitting food out and “faking” eating is not quite polite. Maybe it would be better to be a bit more honest, limit portion sizes and not have unlimited food pushed on our plates. Because from what I read the last days, this seems to be a problem for a lot of people who try to stay in control of their eating habits: the well-intentioned people who push us to eat ever and ever more.

Your turn to share!

