Worth It?

20 Nov

Hi all! Sorry for the super late post – it has been a madhouse over in my corner of the office as I try to get the monthly journal out before Thanksgiving. Luckily, it’s at the printer and I am on my lunch break so I have a short amount of time to check in and say hello!

I woke up this morning and my tummy was feeling less than stellar. I thought it might have been due to the fact that I ate a whole spaghetti  squash last night. I usually cut it in half length-wise and save half of it, but I was ravenous and ate the whole thing in one sitting, underneath some marinara sauce and grated Parmiggiano-Reggiano.

My poor tummy. As a result, I really wasn’t feeling breakfast this morning, but I had a smoothie just so I could get my metabolism up and running.

In the mixer:

  • Handful of frozen berries (from the big bags you get at Costco)
  • Half a cup of plain Greek yogurt
  • A cup or so of vanilla soy milk to get things nice and smooth

I took a long time to drink it, but it ended up tiding me over until lunch! I still wasn’t too hungry when lunchtime rolled around, so I nibbled on the rice and tofu veggie stir fry I had made over the weekend.

Pardon the messy desk, it’s deadline time! I also tried to drink some Sprite to ease my tummy, but it’s unfinished and I’m still not feeling too hot. What gives, body? I’m hope that it will calm down in the next couple of hours so I can make it to the gym. I still haven’t decided which class I’m going to, since Spin, Boot Camp, and Zumba are all at the same time. Hurray for variety!

Speaking of lunches, I got together with a classmate from college  yesterday and we had lunch together. We went over to Chop’t, which is a salad bar that takes all of the ingredients you want in a salad, chops them to bits using a couple of knives, and gives it to you in a massive to-go container.

In my salad, I chose arugula as my base, with cucumbers, tomatoes, feta, avocado, and hard boiled eggs “chop’t” in.  They also put a slice of pita bread on the side! I thoroughly enjoyed my salad- it was delicious and filling. My one qualm is that I spent almost $10 on something I could just as easily make myself. Is it worth it to buy a salad when you go out to eat? I always try to choose something I would never make myself, so it feels like a special treat.

Okay, it’s time to put the nose back to the grindstone and crank this journal out! The more I get done today, the less stressful tomorrow will be. I hope everybody is enjoying their day and getting all their Thanksgiving preparations together (if applicable!). I can’t wait to scan the blogosphere and see pictures of all the delicious pictures people have posted of their meals.

Food For Thought: How do you feel about ordering something at a restaurant that could easily be made at home? What’s your favorite special meal to order when you are out to dinner?

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Worth It?”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 November 20, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I always aim to get something I couldn’t make at home… but sometimes what I could make ends up being what I want when I’m out! I justify it by knowing it’s just nice to have someone make food for me no matter what it is.

    Also… choose bootcamp cough cough I’m going cough cough.

Your turn to share!

