What’s On Your Menu?

19 Nov

To my fellow Americans, Thanksgiving week has finally arrived! For those of you living internationally, I apologize in advance for the barrage of Thanksgiving related posts over the next few days.

I took a vacation from technology this weekend and mostly enjoyed being around my roommates and Stefano. I went on a hike in Rock Creek park, watch the Huskies beat Colorado, and celebrated my roommate and his fiance’s engagement with ice cream, Oreos, and Jurassic Park (her request!).

I also watched the Sounders lose to the Galaxy in the semi-finals of the MLS tournament, but we won’t talk about that as I’m still in mourning.

Since it is T-minus three days until Thanksgiving, I thought I would tell you what my Thanksgiving plans are. Stef and I decided not to fly back to Seattle, as plane tickets are expensive and we couldn’t justify the trip for only a couple of days. Luckily, there are some other West coast stragglers who are sticking around for the holiday, so we are going to have an orphan Thanksgiving at my house on Thursday and watched Thanksgiving-themed episodes of Friends (yes!). Can’t wait to see a repeat Monica’s turkey dance.

Here’s what we’ve got planned.

Turkey Day Menu for Orphan Thanksgiving:

  • Turkey (Duhhh! Though we are having a difficult time finding an appropriately sized one, as there won’t be many of us!)
  • Stuffing (both in an out of the turkey – Stef and I can’t get enough)
  • Gravy
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Bread rolls
  • Pumpkin pie

Last year, I cooked Thanksgiving dinner for 15 of my ex-pat friends living in Rome and I made a ridiculous amount of food. I am having a hard time scaling it down this year, but we just don’t have enough people to eat all of the food I am inspired by! As it stands, I am responsible for everything but the pie and rolls, which will be managed by my one of my roommates, who is a much more proficient baker than I.

I am so looking forward to the meal, even though it will be my second Thanksgiving in a row away from my family. On the bright side, Stef and I are going back to Seattle to visit exactly one month after Thanksgiving and will be there until New Year’s Day, so we will both get plenty of family time in.

Food For Thought: What’s on YOUR Thanksgiving menu? Is there any dish that is absolutely necessary at your table for it to feel like Thanksgiving?

4 Responses to “What’s On Your Menu?”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 November 19, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    Ahhhh I always watch Friends Thanksgiving episodes on Thanksgiving with my sister! They will definitely make an appearance on my TV this year. Love it and your Thanksgiving day plans 🙂 Glad to see I’m not the only one making my own dinner and staying in the area.

  2. Taryn November 20, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    I’m with you.. just can’t have enough stuffing on Thanksgiving! We’re having turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, green beans, and rolls for dinner. Dessert will be apple pie and some kind of pumpkin cookie/cupcake (haven’t decided yet). And Friends! Yes! Company arrives tomorrow, so the boyfriend and I will be watching Thanksgiving episodes of Friends tonight. The football game is my favorite!

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta November 20, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      I LOVE the football game episode! I am totally Monica, because I get hyper competitive. Your dinner sounds delish, Taryn!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New and Old Traditions | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian - November 21, 2012

    […] Any one that knows Friends knows that these are the greatest episodes and are always hilarious. My blogger friend Sara knows what’s up. Over the years I have accrued all the seasons on dvd and have full plans to watch the Thanksgiving […]

Your turn to share!

