Ouch.

16 Nov

So the good news is that my legs feel fine. I definitely thought they were going to be sore after my very first spin class last night. My butt, however? It is suffering. Like, big time. I kind of expected that because I was spending one hour on a bike seat and everybody knows that’s not comfortable. Oh man, I am definitely feeling it, though – ouch.

What did I think of spin? It was fine. I definitely felt like I was working hard and getting my heart rate up, but I also found myself looking at the clock several times, too.

Pros:

  • It is a great way to get in cardio, especially since I’m not a huge runner.
  • The music is awesome, I was definitely jamming while I pedaled.
  • The instructor is good at describing what is going on and where we’re supposed to be feeling it.
  • Lots of different morning and evening class times.

Cons:

  • It is rough on my knees. I found myself having to turn down the resistance because of my knee issues and as a result, my quads didn’t really get the extra push they could have handled.
  • It’s a little monotonous. You sit on a bike, you pedal. Sometimes you pedal faster, sometimes you change positions, but you’re doing the same thing for an hour straight.
  • It doesn’t feel like I’m getting a full body workout and it is rough on the backside.

I think I will definitely have to try it a few more times before I write it off, perhaps with a different instructor, but it definitely didn’t hook me.

Anyway, onto the eats from yesterday! I had leftover spaghetti squash pasta for lunch, along with some carrots and an apple. It was a bit chilly in the office, so I had a cup of hot chocolate to warm my hands.

 

The “noodles” are totally smothered in tomato sauce – I may have gone a little overboard. A couple of hours before spin class, I munched on some Planter’s trail mix so I could have some energy for class. When I got back from spin, I really wanted a burger – just something hearty that I could take huge bites of. I made a veggie burger with two Morning Star patties and topped it with lettuce, tomato, and all the condiment fixings (except mayo). I also slathered some hummus on one side of the sandwich thins that I used.

Those patties are only 120 calories – how awesome is that?

I spent the rest of my evening making brownies and dancing around to the Pentatonix Pandora station while the brownies were baking. Such an awesome station if you are a fan of a cappella music.

Breakfast was back to PB & J with a yogurt bowl and some Kashi Go Lean. I tried my week of originality but what can I say? This is the best way for me to wake up in the morning!

Unfortunately, I was a bit exuberant when it came to flipping my sandwich thins in the toaster oven and there were minor casualties.

Tonight I am going out with some of my female friends from work to go watch Ashley do a pole performance. You might remember the time she took me to one of her classes – it didn’t turn out so well for me. This weekend I am hoping to get some quality time in with Stef, who has been down in the dumps lately because of his job. I also need to get planning for Thanksgiving! Can you believe it’s that time of the year already? Craziness.

Food For Thought: What are your plans for the weekend? Is there a fitness class you want to like, and everybody else seems to, but just can’t get into?

Have a wonderful, wonderful weekend!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Ouch.”

  1. Bezzymates November 16, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    Spinning is really tough of the knees. My friend had to stop because of the pressure to her knees. The butt does get used o the teensy seats though.

  2. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 November 16, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    The day after spin I wore a pair of really tight tights to work without thinking and regretted it because of the soreness I was feeling in my butt hahahaha. Not glad you’re sore- but glad I’m not alone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get Your Spin On « Magia e Pasta - February 6, 2013

    […] night I went to spin class for the first time in a long, long time. Since my first spin class in November, I have only been in a handful of times. The lingering pain in my backside might have […]

Your turn to share!

