Breaking Routine

13 Nov

How’s that for a way to start out the day? Oatmeal is warm, sticks to your ribs, and feels like you’re putting a sweater on the inside of your body. It’s a great way to fuel when the weather outside is cold, rainy, and windy, like today in Washington. I have dubbed this particular batch Sweet Potato Spice and here’s how it goes:

Sweet Potato Spice Oatmeal

 

  • 3/4 cup of raw oats
  • 1 cup vanilla soy milk (or almond or regular, whatever tickles your fancy)
  • 1 sweet potato (nuked in the microwave for about 4 minutes)
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • Optional: Agave nectar or other sweetener, to taste

Make your oatmeal however you prepare it. I did it in the microwave, along with my sweet potato because I’m lazy efficient. When the sweet potato is soft, mash it with a fork inside of its skin, then scoop out and mix in with oatmeal. Stir in the pumpkin pie spice and sweetener, if you’re adding it (I added just a tiny drizzle of agave nectar). Enjoy!

On the top, I sprinkled the very last bits of the pumpkin spice granola I picked up from Trader Joe’s, which added a nice crunch on top. Feel free to add granola or something else with a crunch if you’re a texture loving guy or gal, it makes it that much better.

 

What was supposed to be my lunch yesterday (chunk of feta cheese, pita slices, hummus, and celery sticks) turned out to be my dinner. On holidays where we are working, my office gets into the habit of buying pizza for lunch. I totally forgot and brought my lunch yesterday, but ended up eating pizza instead (three slices of veggie from Papa John’s). When I returned home from the gym, I just opened my lunch box and ate dinner while watching Julie and Julia with my roommate and a friend of ours. I just can’t get over how similar Meryl Streep is to Julia Child. She really has her down pat.

Did you know that Julie Powell, the author of the book on which the movie was based wrote a sequel? It’s called Cleaving and it’s about the unraveling of her life after her first book is published. She ends up involved in this love affair and apprentices at a butcher shop to learn how to slice meat. I haven’t read it, but I think I’m going to refrain because a) I don’t want the sequel to ruin her character in the first book and b) I love her husband’s character in the first book and it makes me sad that she had an affair.

I’m looking forward to going to the gym after work today because I am going to try a new group fitness class instead of my usual Zumba. My gym offers a boot camp class and they describe it as such:

“The boot camp class offered focuses on high heart rate training, designed to improve stamina, endurance, and body composition. Because life doesnʼt happen in a vacuum, we emphasize movement in space to prepare your body for the challenges it will face day to day. Functional and athletic exercises are the norm, so be prepared to be challenged and surprised by how fast your body improves. Our program is designed to accommodate individuals of all fitness levels, and encourage them to progress based upon their own standards.”

I am looking forward to switching things up and breaking out of my current fitness routine. I have been sticking to the same workout schedule for over three months now and I think it’s time for a change. I will be sure to let you know how it goes in tomorrow’s post! For now, have an excellent Tuesday and I will catch you all later!

Food For Thought: Do you participate in group fitness? What are your favorite fitness classes?

Another class I really want to try is spin, but I am not very good on a bicycle and I’m nervous to try it alone. If you’ve done it, what are some helpful hints for a total newbie??

 

 

3 Responses to “Breaking Routine”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 November 13, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Ahhh I tried the morning version of bootcamp class yesterday (which is totally different btw) because I had a day off from work so I won’t be at bootcamp tonight! But I hope you really like it! It’s funny you mention spin because THAT’S what I’m trying as something new tonight (just as terrified of it as you seem to be haha). I’m so nervous but I’ve been saying that I’m going to try it forever now and am finally getting on that.

    PS- that oatmeal looks amazing. making it asap. my love of sweet potatoes knows no bounds.

    • Sara @ Magia e Pasta November 13, 2012 at 10:25 am #

      We keep missing each other!! Maybe I’ll try spin on Thursday and then we can go to one another’s favorites together next week 🙂

      • wickedhealthywashingtonian33 November 13, 2012 at 10:50 am #

        Damn crazy schedules! And yes. I will most definitely be at my regularly scheduled bootcamp class next Tuesday.

Your turn to share!

