Monotonous

2 Nov

It’s the end of the week already? I guess when you get a hurrication, a three day week goes by really quickly. I am looking forward to actually getting outside this weekend and shaking off those last bits of cabin fever from the storm.

I arrived a bit early for volleyball last night and the team playing the match before mine needed a sixth player, so I got to play two matches last night! Great workout + lots of volleyball = win-win situation. Because I had a late game, I didn’t get home until ten o’clock and as such, I had dinner and then called it quits for the night, which means that I haven’t started my novel for NaNoWriMo…already 1,700 words behind – shoot. Guess what I’ll be doing tonight?

I went out for Thai food with my boss at lunch yesterday and ordered pad see ew with extra vegetables. Despite the addition, I still think the vegetables were a little on the skimpy side…

Love those wide rice noodles. Maybe I’ll get some at the store and Stef and I can make our own this weekend. Then I’ll be able to add all the veggies I want!

I didn’t do the best job avoiding the Halloween candy at the front desk at my office, but I did try to stave off the cravings with some Halloween-themed pretzels, instead.

Bats and jack-o-lanterns to start November off right.

While I was eating my yogurt bowl for breakfast this morning (half plain/half honey Greek yogurt, chia seeds, Kashi GoLean, and some chopped apple), I realized that I am in a food slump and my meals are being to feel pretty monotonous. Exhibit A:

Have  you  seen  this before?

Ugh. I know I’m a person of routine and that it’s easier and less time-consuming to eat the same thing repeatedly, but I want to explore all the different foods out there! I’m really not a picky eater and so I feel like I really need to take the leap and venture into a different realm of food. So, I’m going to start by setting a very achievable goal: no yogurt bowls or peanut butter sandwiches for breakfast next week. I hope by posting this on the blog, I’ll be able to hold myself accountable and try out new and different foods for breakfast.

This weekend I’m hoping to get in a few workouts to make up for Monday and Tuesday. I want to go to my usual Saturday morning class (that I’ve totally been skipping out on), but after the end of the week, I really just want my Saturday mornings to be lazy. I’m thinking that Stefano and I should get a hike in at Rock Creek Park before the weather reaches full-on winter.

Hope you all have a great Friday and enjoy your weekend!

Food For Thought: What are your favorite breakfast foods? Do you have a go-to meal that you eat on a regular basis?

***Hurricane Sandy: How You Can Help***

One Response to “Monotonous”

  1. Aunt Rebecca November 2, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Scrambled eggs with shredded kale & carrots. Yummm! Side of whole grain toast + homemade jam; plum, peach, or blueberry. Coffeeeee!

Your turn to share!

