NaNoWriMo

1 Nov

Happy November! Can you believe October has already flown by? Is it socially acceptable to start playing my Christmas playlist on Pandora? I’m probably getting a little ahead of myself.

First off, I want to give a shout-out to one of my oldest and dearest friends, Stephen, for his 23rd birthday. He and I have been friends since 5th grade – it’s crazy to think that we’ve known one another for almost 15 years now! Happy birthday, Fuzzy!

I hope everybody enjoyed their Halloween – to my knowledge, my house didn’t get any trick or treaters. Then again, I didn’t get home until almost nine, so I’m guessing that the majority of kids were off the streets by then.

Oh well, more for me.

The beginning of November marks the first day of NaNoWriMo, also known as National Novel Writing Month. It is an event designed as a challenge for participants to write a 50,000 word novel in one month, starting the first of November and ending on the 30th. In their words,

“Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

As you spend November writing, you can draw comfort from the fact that, all around the world, other National Novel Writing Month participants are going through the same joys and sorrows of producing the Great Frantic Novel. Wrimos meet throughout the month to offer encouragement, commiseration, and—when the thing is done—the kind of raucous celebrations that tend to frighten animals and small children.”

I have thought about writing a novel for a long time now, but I have always been intimidated and just haven’t had enough free time to actually sit down and write something that isn’t a paper for school. Now that I’m a “young professional” with time on her hands (theoretically…), I decided that this would be a great challenge. Last year, over a quarter of a million people participated in NaNoWriMo! If you are interested in participating or just want to learn more about it, head over to their About page and check it out!

And now, back to your regularly scheduled programming….

Yesterday’s lunch was kind of a hodgepodge of various vegetables: some sweet potato, some kale, some carrots – you get the idea. I didn’t do a regular grocery shop this past weekend, so I’m getting creative on lunches for the rest of the week.

Today my boss is taking me out for lunch, so I just need to make it to Friday’s lunch and then I can re-stock. One thing I have to avoid today is the kitchen, where all the office snacks are stashed.

 

There was a Halloween contest in my building yesterday and somebody in my office won this huge basket of treats. Fortunately, he decided to share. Unfortunately, he decided to share. The basket has all sorts of goodies, ranging from not-so-good-for-you to seriously-you’re-putting-that-in-your-mouth bad for you. I snagged a small bag of pretzels that I can keep on hand as a snack. For the most part, I’ve been able to do a good job keeping my hand out of the candy jar at the front desk – we’ll see how long that lasts!

After work, I decided to do a back-to-back workout at the gym, which consisted of a Body Pump class and immediately followed by a Zumba class. I think I’m ready to up the weights on the leg sets again, though I’m still struggling to complete the arm sets with my current weight. Hurray for progress!

By the time I got home, it was nearly nine and I wasn’t in the mood for anything to complicated for dinner. For some reason, pizza flavors are really calling to me (remember the cauliflower bowl?), so I made a mini pizza on a whole wheat wrap: pizza sauce with shredded mozzarella and the last of my turkey pepperoni.

I ended up turning into a wrap and it was kind of like those pizza Hot Pockets that you can buy frozen, except it was a million times better.

On a completely unrelated note, guess what I’m sending off today?

My ballot! After drying it off and filling it out, it is finally ready to be sent off. I tried to mail it yesterday, but was thwarted at the post office when there was a fire in the building and everybody had to evacuate. Whomp, whomp. Hopefully today will be a little more successful.

Since I didn’t have to make lunch this morning, I set my alarm for 7:00 AM, instead of the usual 6:30 and made my way downstairs for breakfast. I forgot that I had run out of tea at my house, so plain old water had to do for today. On the menu: blood-orange Chobani with a peanut butter and jelly sandwich thin. I bought a pack of these at Costco over the weekend, so they will be making frequent appearances here in the next few posts.

I just love all the different flavors that Chobani creates! I generally try to eat plain yogurt and sweeten it myself, since most fruit yogurts have so much sugar, but every once in awhile I like to indulge. I bet if you froze these cups, they would be the perfect dessert!

Food For Thought: Have you ever thought about writing a novel? HAVE you written a novel? What type of genre would it be?

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “NaNoWriMo”

  1. petreaburchard November 1, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    Are you actually doing NaNoWriMo? You go! I’ve never done it. Yes, I’ve written a novel. It’ll be out before Christmas! (Fingers crossed.)

Your turn to share!

