We Made It

31 Oct

Well folks, I am happy to say that I survived my very first hurricane. The storm wasn’t nearly so bad in Washington as was predicted and most people didn’t even lose power.

At one point, Stef and I ventured out to the grocery store to escape cabin fever and get some grocery shopping done. Grocery shopping during  a hurricane makes it obvious what the choice foods are in a storm.

 

The peanut butter shelves were practically cleaned out and we were left with a brand I had never heard of called Peter Pan.

 

Bottled water was the other hot commodity.

We had bought our own bottled water, but it didn’t end up being necessary as the storm felt just a bit windier and rainier than usual.

There was, however, one little surprise outside my front door.

 

I am so thankful that this was the worst of it for us and I am thinking of all those people who have been so affected by the hurricane in New York, New Jersey, and other parts of the northeast. One of my friends lives on the Jersey Shore and his town has been utterly wrecked. If anybody feels so inclined, here’s the link to the Red Cross hurricane aid page if you want to make a donation to help them out. For those of you who got caught in the storm, I hope you and your families are safe and well!

Stormy weather makes for a great time for comfort food. One of my favorites this weekend was a cauliflower pizza bowl: mashed cauliflower mixed with pizza sauce, some turkey pepperoni, and melted mozzarella cheese.

It was a great way to get the comforting flavors of pizza without all of the excess bread from the crust. Yum.

Monday and Tuesday were days off from work because my firm was closed and I spent most of yesterday doing laundry, cleaning my room, and all the other things that never seem to get done during the week. While cleaning, I was greeted with a happy surprise in the mailbox: my ballot had arrived! I am voting absentee in Washington State and I was nervous that my ballot had not yet arrived, with the election coming up so soon. I was so thrilled that it finally arrived, though it looked like it had been caught in the hurricane and was pretty damp.

Nothing a little blow-drying can’t fix. It’s a big ballot for Washington State this year, so I am even more excited to vote!

This morning it was back to work and I tried to go back to my normal routine, despite starting mid-week. My breakfast was a usual yogurt bowl and some peanut butter on a toasted sandwich thin.

I am all about the hot tea this morning, both at home and at the office. Since the storm passed, the weather has been downright chilly and the tea is more for warming my hands than anything else! Time to stock up on some new flavors!

While I managed to get in a workout at the gym in Stefano’s apartment building on Monday, I haven’t really had a good workout since Thursday, so I am antsy to get back to the gym tonight. On the books today is Body Pump, followed by a Zumba class for some cardio.

Food For Thought: What are you favorite tea flavors? Is there a specific brand and flavor you prefer?

Right now, I am totally into Caribou Coffee’s Hot Cinnamon Spice – with the combination of  cinnamon, cloves, and orange peels, it absolutely epitomizes the season of autumn for me.

 

 

 

Your turn to share!

