Frankenstorm

29 Oct

Good morning, everybody! I’m writing to you from home, because work was canceled today, due to Hurricane Sandy. My office follows the federal government for closures, so we closed after the government made an announcement that their offices would not be operating. Hurricane Day!!!

It’s like snow days in high school. Despite the closure, the weather in Washington is still fairly mild – it’s not very windy right now and the rain is pretty light. I hope all of you in the northeast and mid-Atlantic are being cautious and have prepared yourselves for the storm. Stay safe, everybody!

We’ve got the Weather Channel on and are tracking where the storm is headed. It looks like we could get quite a bit of rain, but the winds won’t be nearly as high as those in New York or Connecticut.

Let’s backtrack to the weekend. My office threw me a surprise party for my birthday! I didn’t see it coming at all, but was so pleased. One of my co-workers even made adorable mini-cupcakes.

I’m so thankful for the wonderful people I work with for making me feel so special.

Saturday was a nice, long walk all over the city with Stefano. Our first stop was to Eastern market to check out the fall foods.

The market is chock full of homemade cheeses, sausages, baked goods, along with fresh produce of every sort imaginable. For lunch, we stopped by the bakery to get lox bagels on fresh bread. A strawberry smoothie made an appearance, too.

On our way to the market, we stopped by a cute bookstore that was tucked away in a small courtyard, complete with fountain.

We popped in, but I didn’t see anything that caught my eye. Kindle or no Kindle, the real things are still #1 in my book (Ha!).

After grabbing lunch at the market, we moseyed over to the Capitol building, which was surrounded by tree in the middle of changing colors – so beautiful!

Stef and I spent a long time playing in the leaves, throwing them around and making big piles. We’re really mature.

That evening, we went to a friend’s Halloween party. Neither of us were really planning on doing Halloween this year, so we scrambled to come up with costumes. He ended up as an Italian soccer player and I dressed up as Liz Lemon from 30 Rock. I even had a bag of cheese puffs. Our friends took some pictures, so I will post those when I have them

Speaking of friend, I told you guys last week that I had some visitors in town. Their last day was Sunday, so we went out to brunch at Busboys and Poets near U Street. I have been there several times and each time, I love everything I eat! That morning, I ordered their Oaxaca omelet with home fries.

The omelet was so flavorful and creamy, thanks to the black beans and guacamole inside. The potatoes were just wonderful! I could have eaten a plateful of those.

After brunch, Stef and I had just enough time to do a Costco run while the girls were packing and returned home just in time to see them off. Luckily for them, they were on one of the very last flights out of the airport before it was shut down for Hurricane Sandy. They let me know that they got home safe and sound, though the flight itself was a scary one – they must have hit part of the storm while they were flying!

Today looks like we’re going to stick out the storm, though the power is still on and it just feels like a gloomy Sunday. Stefano is hard at work grading papers and I will probably dive back into a book I’m reading called ‘Sex and World Peace’, which is about how microcosmic events of gender inequality affects national security on a macro level. Yes, it sounds textbook-y and yes, I’m a total nerd. If any of you have read ‘Half the Sky’ by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, check this book out!

Food For Thought: Are any of you in the line of the hurricane? What have you done to prepare?

Being from Seattle, I really don’t have any experience with major natural disasters, so I wasn’t sure how to prepare myself. We’ve got candles, flashlights, and bottled water so hopefully that will be all we need!

Your turn to share!

