The Price You Pay

25 Oct

Good morning from cold, grey Washington, everybody.

I woke up with a bit of an upset tummy today, so the only thing that sounded even remotely appealing was a PB & J and some hot tea.

I immediately knew why I felt so icky. It’s because I had too much of this last night:

Apple pie a la (chocolate) mode. This, coupled with some CVS-induced poor decision making (read: Halloween candy) and my stomach was not a happy camper.

My Body Pump workout was really subpar. I had to take multiple breaks during the bicep and delts songs and was feeling too low energy to stay for Zumba afterwards. I guess that’s the price you pay when you put junk into your body.

I tried to mitigate it by having a light dinner of spaghetti squash faux pasta, with some pasta sauce and a sprinkle of grated parmesan for dinner. This dish is seriously so good for people who are looking for a pasta substitute – just stick that baby in the microwave for 11 minutes and then cut in half, de-seed, and scrape into “noodles”. Unfortunately, the damage had already been done and I woke up feeling not so hot.

With the holidays coming up (Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc.), I know it’s going to be a challenge to stick to healthy choices when there will be a plethora of delicious, heavy treats just waiting to be consumed. I know this time of year is hard for everybody because of all these special occasions, as well as the cold weather that makes you only want to eat stick-to-your-ribs kind of food. A crisp green salad doesn’t sound nearly as appealing as a big bowl of hot spaghetti when it’s cold and dreary outside.

This weekend, I’m hoping to compile a list of healthy versions of comfort food. Don’t get me wrong – sometimes you need to have a the real thing and there are just some meals you shouldn’t ever try to fake. But a lot of times, it is easy to make just a few changes and fill that craving without all the unhealthy extras.

Food For Thought: What’s your favorite fall comfort food? Is there a holiday staple that you can’t get enough of?

My holiday staple is the stuffing at Thanksgiving. I swear, there’s some kind of crack in it because I can never get enough. I feel like my family has begun to make two batches of it: one for me and one for everybody else. Stef is a huge stuffing fan as well, so I have a feeling that it’s going to be the star of our Thanksgiving this year. Who needs turkey?

Your turn to share!

