What’s My Age Again?

24 Oct

Hey, hey, hey!

So I’m 23 now and it feels…well, it feels like 22 does, but somehow even less exciting. At what age is it appropriate to just stop looking forward to birthdays because it’s only a reminder that you’re getting older? One birthday related thing I never tire of is beautiful flowers from the boyfriend.

Other than my beautiful bouquet and wonderful gifts, my birthday was pretty low-key. Lunch was packed, I read a book, and ate a pretty usual meal.

After work, I went to the gym to get my Zumba on. Our usual instructor was out, so we had a sub who did a fabulous job. Her dance style was more Cuban and I had a lot of fun! When I got home, one of my roommates was around and we sat in the kitchen and chatted while I made dinner.

On the plate: balsamic vinegar-infused couscous, some frozen veggies that had been sauteed in balsamic vinegar, and two mashed sweet potatoes with a spoonful of plain Greek yogurt on top. I used TWO dishes – win. I am so into sweet potato, squash, and other root vegetables right now and thanks to the microwave, they’re so easy to prepare. I cooked these sweet potatoes on high for 6 or 7 minutes and they turned out perfectly. Conveniently, the couscous also took about 7 minutes to cook, so everything came together and just the right time.

My roommate decided to make an apple pie last night and while I went to bed before it was finished, I am definitely going to get in on that after dinner tonight.

Speaking of apples, I decided to change up my yogurt bowl this morning by adding some chopped pieces of Macintosh apple to the mix. With some chia seeds, half plain yogurt, half honey yogurt, and some Kashi Go Lean, it was a good way to start off the day.

One reason I was looking forward to turning 23 was finally listening to this song and being able to relate.

Ah, Blink 182.

My boss is out of town for work for the rest of the week, so I’m holding down the fort. The journal is all printed and packaged, so now I’m off to the copy room to stamp a whole lotta envelopes.

Food For Thought: Do you make a big deal out of your birthday? How do you usually celebrate?

 

 

 

 

One Response to “What’s My Age Again?”

  1. Rebecca Lane October 24, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Hey Beautiful…
    Unless you prefer the alternative, aging is good news! I suspect that what you’re not looking forward to is age based discrimination & aging related physical impacts.

    Just like sexism & racism, ageism is, well, BS. I’m fighting it so you won’t have to. Call it out when you see it!

    And truthfully, bodies are in many ways more fun when younger… but I’d not trade who I am as a whole person for the physical capacity I miss.

    I celebrate my birthday every year as a personal new year. I take the day off, and let myself be aimless, although next year, we may travel. M’s birthday is 8 days later, so we celebrate the days in between too!

    I love being 57. It’s a fabulous time to be alive! Love you, honey.

Your turn to share!

