23 on 23

23 Oct

Hi guys! Today is a special day for me because I turn 23. And it’s the 23rd, which makes today my golden birthday! This is the first time that I have been in Washington, D.C. , my birthplace, since I was born. It’s kinda cool to be in the city where my parents lived while my mom was pregnant with me. She suggested that I go over to Georgetown University Hospital to wave, but it’s far and not metro-accessible (which pretty much determines how I get anywhere in this city), so I will just have to wave from afar.

Google gave me a fun little surprise this morning:

Apparently, if you have a Gmail account, they customize your Google website on the day of your birthday to have birthday cakes! Thanks, Google!

Right at midnight last night, I decided I couldn’t wait any longer to open the stack of presents that had been arriving over the course of the week.

*As I was in the middle of writing this, a man delivered a bouquet of roses to my desk*

Seriously, I have the most amazing, thoughtful boyfriend.

I also have such a wonderful family who thought of me all the way across the country! I am so blessed.

This beautiful silver bracelet was made in Italy and it’s from Stefano’s parents, who sent it to him to give to me on my birthday. I just love them!

My baby brother (okay, he’s not a baby, he’s almost 21) sent me a pearl bracelet! He told me that he knows I’m not a huge jewelry person, but he thought I would use them on a special occasion. Oh my gosh, I just started tearing up – he is so thoughtful. I know I’m going to think of him every time I wear it.

This light box was on my wish list and my mommy got it for me. I used it last night and it works, it really works! I am going to try it for a few days to see how much it affects my overall energy level, but it was SO nice to wake up to a room that was pleasantly lit, instead of pitch black. Thanks, Mommy!

There were a few other things, but I don’t want to use the whole post describing all of my gifts – though they were wonderful and I love them all.

Let’s talk eats, because that what I’m all about. It will be noted that my brother sent me a gigantic bag of Skittles in the package he sent to  me – he knows me too well. I was thinking about bringing them to work today, but it’s definitely best that I leave them at home, since I’m not there most of the day.

Lunch yesterday was pretty blah. The highlight of it was snagging an Honest Tea that we had leftover in the work fridge from a going away party for a co-worker who, incidentally, now works at Honest Tea! When I got home, my roommate had some friends over for his birthday celebrations and he had some burgers on the grill. I ate two: one for his birthday, one for my birthday. At least, that’s how I justified it. That’s how I justified eating two bowls of mint chocolate chip ice cream later that night, too.  Hey, you gotta celebrate!

Let’s talk about this little discovery from Trader Joe’s. This is why I look forward to going there every week – there is always something new to try! Pumpkin Spice granola? Trader Joe’s, you are speaking my language. It’s SO good and luckily, I got a gift card to Trader Joe’s for my birthday (thanks, Mom!), so you best believe this is going to be in my pantry all autumn long. Mmm.

Last, and probably least, was my breakfast this morning. I was thinking about doing a special birthday breakfast, but I think I’m going to save it for the weekend. Celebrating during the week just doesn’t have as much ‘umph’ behind it, don’t you think? I just stuck with some PB & J on toast with some yogurt (half plain Greek yorgurt, half TJ’s honey Greek yogurt) with a sprinkle of chia seeds mixed in. I also had a cozy mug of mango tea. It was a relaxing morning and today has been so far, so good.

It helped that I saw this sign on the way to the bus stop this morning:

It was put up by a program called Make DC Smile and it worked! I definitely smiled.

Have a wonderful Tuesday, everybody!

3 Responses to “23 on 23”

  1. petreaburchard October 23, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Happy birthday, Sara! You make a lot of people smile.

  2. Lucy L October 29, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    I’ve been wanting to get that Philips light for like a year, but couldn’t bring myself before confirming that it actually works! Maybe I’ll get myself an early christmas present this year to combat the quickly darkening days…

    • shefny October 29, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      It works! I’m a fan, though I haven’t used it too much. I’ll give you a better review in a few days.

Your turn to share!

